Last Call!

If you want to be entered into the Cookbook drawing, leave a comment on that post. Sunday I’ll be picking three comments using random.org and plan to get the cookbooks in the mail as soon as I have addresses from the 3 lucky winners.

Sorry for the long hiatus, which was totally unplanned. I thought I’d post about a few of the things I made for the gatherings we have hosted lately as well as a picnics and other things we’ve done, but the blog has been neglected in the flurry of activity.

I read a post sometime in the last couple of months in which the author was amazed that their family of 4 ate *sooo* many eggs, nearly  a dozen per week. I just laughed. One week recently I used 4 dozen — two dozen whites went into angel food cakes and some of the yolks were used in a key lime tart, pictured above. I think I could employ a small henhouse full time!

On another occasion I made the gluten free angel food cake pictured above. I’ll come back with a recipe for that later. In the mean time, here are pictures from our vacation:


Better than Hallmark, Mother’s Day wishes in the sand.


Crab Trap dinner for Mother’s Day. The kids especially love the buckets and shovels.


Some crabs we found, but did not eat.


Fun at the beach.


Sunset walks every evening.

One Response

  1. That may have been me who said we eat a lot of eggs. I wasn’t even counting any baking (which I don’t do a lot of), that’s just the eggs cooked for my daughter for straight-up eating. During the heavy baking days, the butter and eggs used are enough to make lots of people happy.

Comments are closed.

