Leave Room For Dessert

I did not intend to leave you with only fig muffins for so long. As is often the case, life got in the way (and Facebook, where I have spent far too much time lately). Tartlet 1 has been baking up a storm, including her birthday cake pictured above which she baked and decorated herself. She has also made pizza crust, bread sticks, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal spice cake, and peanut butter cookies. I finally shoved her out of the kitchen to prepare for Easter. 😉

This is a gratuitous picture of my new sofa. I’m so tickled with it. It’s comfortable, it has low arms, it’s curvy rather than boxy, it doesn’t have a skirt, and it’s purple!! 😀  I know it has nothing to do with food, other than the fact that one day, probably sooner than later, I’ll have to deal with food having been spilled on it. 😛

Easter was a lovely day with lots of friends around the table. The menu was much like previous years:

Cheese plate and crackers with Tillamook cheddar, muenster, and herbed goat cheese

Lamb with lemon, garlic, oregano and cumin rub
Ham with apricot glaze
Mashed potatoes and gravy
Praline Sweet Potatoes (photos coming soon!)
Green salad with grape tomatoes, cucumber, jicama, pignolia
Green Peas
Steamed Asparagus
Orange Glazed Carrots
Sauteed Mushrooms and Onions (mmm, so tasty with the lamb!)
Dinner Rolls

For dessert I made a Black Forest-esque cake, a Meyer Lemon Cheesecake with fresh fruit, and Fresh Strawberry Pie. I’ll be back to tell you about the first two desserts later.

