Gluten Free Love

Today was the Valentine’s party for Tartlet 4’s preschool class. There is one sweet little girl in the class who is allergic to gluten and I’m so glad I’ve been able to make a few treats that she can have too, so she doesnt’ feel left out. Unfortunately, last time I wasn’t clear enough about the fact that one tray had regular cupcakes and the other had gluten-free and she had a little bit of a regular one (but only a little bit and didn’t get sick, thankfully).

Determined to make this week’s treat completely gluten-free and wanting to avoid the grit of rice flour, I decided to play with something a little different. I read ingredient lists on packaged gluten-free cake mixes and saw that several listed sorghum, sugar, potato flour, and tapioca flour as the first four ingredients and in that order.  Mine isn’t quite that proportion, and possibly it would have been less dense had I used more sorghum and less potato and tapioca flours.

I modified this Whipping Cream Cake recipe and used a vanilla bean and orange for flavoring. While my result has more of a pound cake texture than the light and fluffiness of the regular whipping cream cake or Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake, it was very good and all my Tartlets liked it. I tried piping some Cool Whip into the center, but the density of the cake didn’t leave much room for filling.

Gluten-Free Whipping Cream Cake (adapted from Betty Crocker, 1969)

1 1/2 c. chilled whipping cream

3 eggs (1/2 to 2/3 c.)
1 vanilla bean
grated zest of one orange or 1 tsp. orange extract

1 c. white sorghum flour
1/2 c. potato flour
1/2 c. tapioca flour
1 1/2 c. sugar
1 t. xanthan gum
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line cupcake tin with paper liners.

In chilled bowl, beat cream until stiff.

Beat eggs until thick and lemon colored. Fold eggs, the seeds scraped from the vanilla bean, and orange zest or extract into whipped cream.

Stir together remaining ingredients; fold gently into cream-egg mixture until blended. Batter will be thick and stiff. Spoon into muffin cups.

Bake 20-25 min or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool. Frost as desired. (I used an orange buttercream.)

Makes 18 cupcakes.

5 Responses

  1. OMG, that frosting looks incredible!

    That is so sweet of you to make those gluten-free goodies, i am sure they were beyond appreciated!

  2. Cupcake love!!!

  3. Thank you for the lovely post. For us struggling bakers, we really appreciate your baking talent. The premixes cost a small fortune to be tossed because no one can eat the treats.
    I will try to make this for my daughter soon.

    -Tien 🙂

  4. […] Gluten Free Love […]

  5. […] been adding them to everything. I make vanilla yogurt about twice a month, I toss them into cupcakes and frosting, pastry cream, and of course, ice cream and frozen […]

Comments are closed.

