Sunday Brunch

One of the things my mom likes to do when she visits us is eat out.  A couple of years ago she had a memorable experience at Silvercreek Sunday Brunch, so it was on her list of things to do on her recent visit. Sundays are not calm, quiet days in our household. The older Tartlets and The Husband get up by 6 AM to deliver papers (Tartlet 1 takes hers in a wagon and prefers to be up by 5:30, The Husband carries for Tartlet 2 and prefers to not wake before 6! 😉 ) Following that, The Husband, and anyone who wants to help him, leave the house at 7:25 AM to go do the set up for our church (which meets in a gym so there is a lot of work to do) and the reward for the Tartlets is anyone who helps gets to go to Dunkin’ Donuts afterward. You would think he was passing out gold coins! They usually get home by 8:45 AM and then it’s time for showers and dressing and trying to get out the door by 9:15, which rarely happens, and we generally get home around noon. The Husband and Tartlet 1 are participating in a Lego Robotics team so each Sunday they need to be at their meeting place from about 1:30 PM until 5:30 or 6:00 PM. So we were a little concerned about squeezing in the brunch. But it worked out perfectly, despite the fact that I didn’t realize they take reservations for the brunch. The time before this visit it was quite busy and we waited about 30-45 minutes for a table, so I would definitely recommend a reservation if you are on a tight schedule.

Silvercreek is in a lovely building (you can read about its history on the website) and I love all the exposed, unpainted woodwork. On a dreary day it can be a bit dark, but it’s still a lovely place. Two of the specialties of the brunch are the made-to-order omelets and the Belgian waffles, which my breakfast lovers assure me are wonderful. I’m not so much of a breakfast person so I have skipped those stations in my visits. As in past visits, the spread included some breads – baked fresh on the premises, several salads, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, sausage, some form of potatoes (roasted, mashed, etc), various vegetables, pasta, and lots and lots of meat options including chicken, beef, pork, fish, and shrimp. Something for every taste!

One of the things I appreciated about this visit was that you could select a reasonably healthy meal from the options, not just comfort foods. In fact, I loaded up my plate with green salad, fresh fruit, roasted vegetables, and the tastiest talapia I’ve had in years. The talapia was so good I went back for seconds and when I was looking over the pan someone came from the kitchen with a fresh baked batch and suggested that I have some of the fresh while he removed the stuff that had been sitting. I hate going to a buffet and seeing food that has been sitting in the warming pans for hours, so I was especially thrilled to see them refreshing the pans in a timely manner.

They also have quite a selection of desserts. On my latest visit there was a blueberry cake (it was ok but not fantastic), a yellow cake with chocolate frosting, chocolate cheesecake, pumpkin pie, Black Forest trifle (again, ok, nothing to rave about), and they had a selection of cookies, brownies and bars. One of the things I enjoy most about dining out is having something I can’t/won’t/don’t make at home, so in that way the desserts didn’t wow me, but they were certainly good.

The wait staff were friendly, unobtrusive, and were quick to take away used plates and refill drinks. We were efficiently done with time to spare for The Husband and Tartlet 1 to make their meeting. On weekends with home football games, parents weekends, and other high traffic weekends for the University, I would certainly want to allow extra time.

Because The Husband paid the tab and I didn’t see any prices listed I don’t know the cost per person. However, for 3 adults and 4 children, the total for the buffet, 5 drinks, and tip came to $103.

Silvercreek
402 N Race St.
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-328-3402

Mon – Thurs 11 AM – 3 PM; 5 PM – 10 PM
Fri – Sat 11 AM – 3 PM; 5 PM – 11 PM
Sunday Brunch 10 AM – 2:30 PM; Dinner 5 PM – 10 PM

