What’s Not To Love?

I made some muffins for the Ladies’ Retreat I recently attended and I think the favorite, by far, was this Cheesy Ham and Pepper Muffin. Not only is it good for breakfast, it works fabulously with soups. I had this recipe on my computer and I remember first making it several years ago, but I have since lost the source or I would cite it. I know I didn’t come up with this one on my own because, left to my own devices in the kitchen, I’m always more likely to tinker with getting 5 kinds of chocolate into a dessert than making a savory muffin. Also, the copy saved on my computer left out the *ham* in the muffin (duh!), which I’m sure was a typing error in copying from another source. I’m not sure if I’ve missed anything else, but the muffin is quite good in the present form. The muffin itself has a light, tender texture.

I made more of these muffins today and this time I used 1 cup of whole wheat and 4 cups of white flour in making a double batch. I also ran out of baking powder and used a cream of tarter/baking soda/salt mixture, my bell pepper, although a ‘green pepper’ was mostly orange so the color doesn’t show up as well in these photos, *and* I was out of Swiss cheese and used some of the shredded cheddar I had on hand. So the pictures are not identical to the recipe given or what you may have had if you were at the retreat last weekend. I think they do taste better with the Swiss cheese rather than the cheddar, and they are more tender without whole wheat flour. The ‘ham’ in both cases was turkey ham as the pork ham in the store wasn’t thrilling when I was shopping late at night.

Cheesy Ham and Pepper Muffins

2 ¬Ĺ c. flour
3 Tbsp. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1/4 t. black pepper

1 c. milk
6 Tbsp. vegetable oil
2 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp. Dijon mustard

3/4 c. shredded Swiss cheese
3/4 c. chopped ham
3 Tbsp. chopped red or green bell pepper

Preheat oven to 400 F. Grease or paper-line 12 muffin cups.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and black pepper in large bowl. Whisk together milk, oil, eggs and mustard in small bowl until blended. Stir into flour mixture just until moistened. Fold in cheese, ham and bell pepper. Spoon evenly into prepared muffin cups.

Bake 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in muffin pan on wire rack 5 minutes. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack 10 minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.

One Response

  1. I’m always getting hungry a few hours after breakfast, when it’s too early to eat lunch, and these would be the perfect snack for that time :). But I can also see why these would complement soup very well, too! We would love to feature your recipe on our blog and the first and only digital recipe reader. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if you’re interested. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

