Marriage of Flavors

Today The Husband and I celebrate 16 years of marriage.  I decided to make some cupcakes, thinking I would put together his favorite fruit, strawberries, with my favorite food, chocolate.  It’s tasty, but doesn’t have the strong strawberry flavor I was hoping for. Sometimes a recipe, especially one I make from my own imagination, doesn’t turn out according to expectations.  But sometimes you still end up with something tasty.  I’m not going to make any correlations to marriage from that.  😉

We’re going to celebrate tonight by going to my favorite restaurant.  Happy Anniversary, Husband!

Strawberry Chocolate Cupcakes

1/2 c. sugar
1 1/2 c. chopped strawberries

1 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 t. vanilla
2 eggs

2 1/4 c. flour
2 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt

1 c. sour cream

1 c. mini chocolate chips

Stir strawberries with sugar and allow to sit for 15 minutes. Drain off 3-4 Tbsp. of syrup and reserve for frosting.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together sugar and butter until creamy. Add vanilla and eggs and beat until smooth, scraping the sides as needed.

In a medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Stir sour cream into strawberry/sugar mixture. Alternately add the dry and wet ingredients, mixing well after each addition, beginning and ending with dry ingredients. Fold in chocolate chips.

Strawberry Frosting
4 oz. cream cheese
2 1/2 c. powdered sugar
reserved strawberry syrup
milk

Beat cream cheese until smooth. Add sugar & strawberry syrup and beat until smooth. Add milk as needed to adjust consistency.

One Response

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary!

    Re homeschooling: I know exactly how you feel. I’ve homeschooled my kids for the past 19 years and have another 12 years ahead. When you feel down, it’s so important to go back to why you decided to homeschool. If that hasn’t changed, then concentrate on the positives. This is what I tell myself every year. And if that doesn’t help, the occasional night out with friends works wonders.

Comments are closed.

