What Do You Call Them?

With some lemon curd leftover from the Victorian tea party, I decided I would tuck it into muffins again. Although I wanted the same thing, I also wanted it to be different. So I whipped up these muffins from what I had on hand. These aren’t cupcakes. They aren’t sweet and fluffy; they are hearty for breakfast and snacking, with enough sugar that you don’t think you are eating gruel. 😉 It was a good way to use up the remainder of lemon curd.

Tartlet 1 wondered what I would call these muffins. I told her ‘Belly Button Muffins’ because the very centers sank, as I had anticipated, although I thought it might be hidden inside.  I laughed to see them. Tartlet 1 didn’t think Belly Button Muffins sounded very appetizing. What would you call them?

Belly Button Muffins
1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. sugar
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 c. coconut

3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
3/4 c. plain yogurt
1 egg
1 t. vanilla
2 t. grated lemon peel

lemon curd

Preheat oven to 375 F. Spray muffin tin or line with paper cups.

In a large bowl, stir together dry ingredients; set aside. In a medium bowl, stir together remaining ingredients except lemon curd. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until moistened; avoid over-mixing.

Spoon batter into muffin tins. Drop 1/2 – 1 t. lemon curd in the center of each muffin top. Bake 20 minutes or until done.

One Response

  1. I think that is a great name for them! I would definitely be chuffed if someone handed one of these to me for breakfast!

Comments are closed.

