Breakfast Cupcakes

This recipe is never going to be the diplomat to settle the ‘muffin or cupcake’ debate.  It may not have piles of buttercream on top, but it certainly is covered with a sugary glaze.  While it does have fruit in it, it also has plenty of sugar inside (not just on top) and not a whole grain in sight (although that could be easily modified).  The Tartlets liked snacking on these, so I’m glad I made a double batch and we have some left for tomorrow morning too.

These are even good without the glaze, in case you wanted to trick yourself in thinking it was a standard morning muffin.  Your taste buds will know, but it’s not like I’ve never indulged in a little self-delusion here and there.  There are worse things to deceive yourself about.

For instance, I keep thinking I have more time before certain deadlines.  Calendars are a real help, but when you forget to look at them, they aren’t.  It certainly makes life more interesting when you think you have another week before something comes up, only to find out that ‘week’ was a figment of your imagination.  But I’m glad these muffins are real and I’ll be glad to have one for breakfast tomorrow, as I tell myself it’s a ‘breakfast cupcake’.

Banana Poppy Seed Mufins (adapted from The Muffin Cookbook)

2 ripe bananas, peeled
1 egg
3/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. butter, melted
2 t. grated orange peel

2 c. flour
1 1/2 Tbsp. poppy seeds
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt

Citrus glaze (see below)

Preheat oven to 375 F.

In a medium mixing bowl, beat bananas until soft and smooth. Add egg, sugar, butter, and orange peel and mix until well blended. In a large bowl, combine flour, poppy seeds, baking powder and salt. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture until evenly moistened.

Spoon batter into greased or paper lined muffin cups. Bake 20 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from pan; cool on wire rack. Top with citrus glaze while warm, if desired.

Citrus Glaze:
1 c. powdered sugar
3 Tbsp. orange juice
1 t. grated orange peel
1/2 t. vanilla

In a medium bowl, combine all glaze ingredients and stir until smooth.

2 Responses

  1. I would definitely let myself be deceived by these!

  2. ooooh those look delicious! i’m new here and am a terrible cook (but trying!) talk to me about the grated orange. any size/name of orange ok to use? do I peel it and just grate the peel? (don’t laugh!) any way i could sneak a little fiber into this for my little one who has trouble with that sort of thing?
    thank you!
    xozahlxo (at)gmail.com

Comments are closed.

