Spice Cake Love

When it comes to dessert, I love, love, LOVE chocolate, as you can tell from the tag cloud. But I have a friend who doesn’t love chocolate, as amazing as that seems. Because I do love my friend, when she comes over I try to make sure that, even if I’ve been having the most intense chocolate cravings that I’m considering an IV hook-up to a chocolate fountain and I make some dessert with three layers of dark chocolate, I still try to have a non-chocolate option for her. Years ago she mentioned that her mom used to make oatmeal spice cakes for her birthday and, although it’s not near my friend’s birthday now, with fall in the air I decided that oatmeal spice would be a good choice this week. I used a lemon glaze on my cake; she says her mom used orange.  Still, she claimed it tasted like love.

I forgot to put raisins in, as I had intended to do, and I think I’d like to tweak this recipe some more, but it had a good flavor and was well received.  The maple flavor didn’t come across at all and I’d like to play with that aspect of this recipe a little, so I may be back later in the fall with another version of this cake.  It is certainly not disappointing in its current form.

Oatmeal Spice Cake (adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook, 1969)
1 1/2 c. flour
1 c. quick oats
1 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1 1/2 t. baking soda
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/4 t. cloves
1/2 t. sea salt
1/2 c. shortening
1 c. water
2 eggs
2 Tbsp. maple syrup

Heat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour baking pan, 9×13-inches.

Measure all ingredients into large mixer bowl. Blend 30 seconds on low speed, scraping bowl constantly. Beat 3 minutes on high speed, scraping bowl occasionally. Pour into pan.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until done. Cool. Spread with lemon glaze.

Lemon Glaze
3 c. powdered sugar
1 t. clear vanilla
2 Tbsp. canola oil (or other vegetable oil)
5-7 Tbsp. lemon juice

Stir together ingredients, adjusting with powdered sugar or lemon juice to achieve desired consistency.

2 Responses

  1. Looks good! I might try and replace the white flour with wheat, and sub 1/2 honey for the sugar………..I love oaty desserts!

  2. double the cinnamon and the glaze and you’ve got my ideal cake. 🙂

Comments are closed.

