Less Than Amazing

We went to a cookout with some friends and I thought I had a great idea for dessert. But my mental experiments resulted in a miscalculation. It tasted great, but it could have used a little help in the beauty department. I made my own graham cracker crust, filled with a cream cheese/French vanilla pudding mix, and topped with strawberries. In order to keep the strawberries from making the top runny, I decided that I’d try a little pectin in the topping, but I forgot how long it takes for pectin to set when you don’t cook your fruit, so mine didn’t set up. It would have been better had I just served strawberries on the side, scattered some whole on top and brushed with some apricot jelly, or something other than what I did. But everyone agreed it had a good flavor, so if you want to try it, I’d suggest just serving strawberries alongside the pie.

Graham Cracker Crust

1 sleeve graham crackers, finely crushed
1/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Stir together ingredients and press into pie pan. Bake for 5-7 min or until golden. Remove from oven and cool on wire rack.

Filling:
8 oz. pkg cream cheese
1 pkg. instant French vanilla pudding mix (small size)
1 1/2 c. milk

Beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the pudding mix; beat until smooth. Slowly add the milk while beating until mixture is smooth and creamy, about 3-4 minutes. Pour filling into prepared pie crust.

One Response

  1. It really did have good flavor.

Comments are closed.

