Trial and Error

Once again I thought I’d try some new recipes from one of my many cookbooks, and I turned to the King Arthur’s Flour All-Purpose Cookbook, despite my less than thrilling results with the chocolate chip cookies. After all, you hear rave reviews of something and, when the first thing that you try that isn’t to your taste, it doesn’t squelch your interest entirely and you have to try something else. I made the ‘Ultra-Butterscotch Brownies’ but used the variation for blondies and omitted the butterscotch chips.

I wish now that I would have tried these in one of my glass dishes, because I think they may have baked better than in my metal 9×13 pan. These were looking quite done — pulling away from the sides of the pan, glossy on top, gooey but not runny in the middle, so I pulled them from the oven and *FOOM* they collapsed like the Stardust but without the fireworks, cheering, or dust. But the part around the edge is sooo yummy. Oh, man, how can you go wrong with that much butter and brown sugar together? I may have to try these again. And on the next page in the cookbook is ‘Raspberry Truffle Brownie Bars’, so I’m not ready to throw in the towel on this cookbook, yet.

Butterscotch Blondies (from The King Arthur’s Flour Baker’s Companion, p. 324)

8 Tbsp. (1 stick) soft butter
2 c. brown sugar
1/2 t. salt
1 t. baking powder
2 t. vanilla

1 1/2 c. unbleached all-purpose flour

3 large eggs

1 1/2 c. chopped pecans

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Melt the butter in a medium-sized mixing bowl in the microwave, and mix in the sugar, salt, baking powder, and flavoring. Stir in the flour, then the eggs, one at a time. Stir in 1 c. of the nuts. Scoop the batter into a lightly greased 9 x 13-inch pan. Sprinkle the remaining nuts over the top of the batter.

Bake the blondies for 30 to 35 minutes, until the top is shiny but the middle is still gooey (though not liquid). Just like a fudge brownie, you don’t want to overbake these; underbake a bit for chewiest texture. Remove them from the oven and cool completely before slicing.

One Response

  1. it was still yummy nonetheless! 🙂

Comments are closed.

