Red, White, and Goo

It’s fresh berry season and who can resist the beauty and exquisite taste of fresh berries? Not me. Before we left for Montana I had this idea for making a white chocolate fudge with blueberries and strawberries for a patriotic dish. Well, I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand that I thought I did, so it was shelved until we returned. Even then, I didn’t have as much white chocolate as I thought I did so it was really soft and had to be frozen to stay firm at all, but it tasted so good I knew I would try again. And frozen ‘fudge’ isn’t a bad thing in summer!

So last week I attempted this again, but I have to tell you that I didn’t improve it much. I think my idea is just fated to failure because, even though I thoroughly dried the fruit before adding it to the white chocolate, it gets a little watery around the fruit and becomes a runny, drippy mess. It only holds together when frozen and it seems to melt rather rapidly. The first time I had better quality white chocolate than the second, too. I’ll probably tinker with this a little more, but I’ll give you what I’ve done so far. Meanwhile, I’m working on a different entry for Sugar High Friday.

Patriotic Fudge

18 oz white chocolate
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 1/2 t. orange extract

fresh blueberries, washed and patted dry
fresh strawberries, washed, chopped, and patted dry

In a heavy pan over low heat, melt the chocolate with the milk, stirring constantly until smooth. Remove from heat and add the extract.

Fold in 3/4 of the fruit. Pour into a buttered pan, 8×10 or 9×13. Sprinkle remaining fruit on top. Freeze until firm.

One Response

  1. (came here from the SHF link-backs)

    Sounds tasty and tempting! I was reading something just the other day about how strawberries should be macerated (with sugar) to drive out some of the moisture. Maybe you should try that – macerate them, then drain the juice off for some other purpose, before adding to the chocolate. Doesn’t help with the blueberries, though, but maybe they aren’t contributing to the problem. The other thing you could try is giving up on “fudge” and churning it into frozen dairy dessert instead! :^)

Comments are closed.

