Laid Back Summer

Alright, so it doesn’t seem like much of a laid back summer, but that’s exactly when I like making foods that require little or no heat to produce and taste refreshing. This cucumber salad is something my grandmother and people of her generation with a rural upbringing seemed to commonly make.  It would be served alongside corn on the cob and thick sliced tomatoes from the garden.  I never cared for it as a kid, probably afraid the white stuff meant a milky sauce that would make me sick, but a few years ago Thing 1 had some and loved it and it has been appearing on our table more often than I would have imagined when I was her age. It’s super simple and leftovers are great on a green salad, using the sauce for the salad dressing. Thing 1 likes to put them on her hamburgers, too.

Cucumber Salad

sliced cucumbers
mayonnaise
vinegar (I prefer white rice vinegar but any will do)
salt
pepper

I mix about equal amounts of mayo and vinegar and stir it together until creamy, but not too runny. Toss with sliced cucumbers and season as desired with salt and pepper.

One Response

  1. Oh yum! What a delicious-looking salad!
    This reminds me of another creamy-cucumber recipe my aunt makes with sour cream, sugar, vinegar, cucumbers, and onions. Cucumbers are lovely!!

Comments are closed.

