More Meaty Muffins

This weekend our place is going to look like a bed and breakfast, I think. Tonight, The Husband’s Cousin is coming with a crew of 10 9 who will bike across Iowa next week, the Tartlets are having a sleepover on Friday night, and we have a family of six seven staying with us on Saturday night! It’s nice to be able to use our space. Unfortunately, as I’ve mentioned before, breakfast just isn’t my favorite meal, nor where my kitchen skills shine best.

After the raging success of the Bacon Cheese Muffins, I decided to try a similar meaty muffin from the same out of print cookbook. I made a double batch, using Johnsonville Polish Sausage, and to half I added a can of chopped green chilies. I haven’t made a taste comparison of the two, but I did try the ones with green chilies and thought they were very good. We’ll definitely make these again. The ones in the cookbook have little bits of sausage peeking out. To do this, reserve some of the sausage and drop it on top of the muffins just before baking, rather than stirring all the sausage into the batter.

Sausage Corn Muffins (from The Muffin Cookbook, 1989)

1/2 pound smoked sausage

1 c. flour
3/4 c. yellow cornmeal
1/4 c. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 c. buttermilk
1/4 c. vegetable oil
2 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Cut sausage into quarters lengthwise, the cut crosswise into 1/4-inch pieces. Lightly brown sausage in medium skillet over medium heat. Drain on paper towels.

Combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, and baking powder in medium bowl. Add buttermilk, oil, eggs, and sausage. Stir only until blended.

Fill muffins cups 2/3 full. Bake 12-15 minutes or until wooden pick inserted near center comes out clean. Makes 15 muffins. (Note: I filled mine about 3/4 full and got 12 muffins)

Cookbook suggestion: serve with honey butter (1/2 c. softened butter stirred with 1/4 c. honey).

2 Responses

  1. Those muffins look really tasty!

  2. Are these the muffins that I had on Saturday? I thought it was a bacon muffin and the best batch yet! Now that I am looking at this post, is this what I ate? I don’t think the picture looks quite the same. Regardless, the muffin that I ate on Saturday was my favorite meaty muffin. It took all my restraint not to lick the plate.

Comments are closed.

