Minty Fresh

I guess I’m just on a brownie kick lately. There are worse things in life. 😉 I have a friend who is fond of Andes’ Candies and I thought I would try to come up with a brownie recipe that used the little bits found in the grocery near the chocolate chips, but that wasn’t so darkly chocolaty that she wouldn’t want to eat them. I took these to our concert of prayer on Sunday.

These have what you might consider a traditional brownie texture. They don’t rise a lot so they won’t be confused as cake; they are dense but not so moist as to be fudgy. I was rather pleased with the final result and would definitely make these again. And minty fresh breath is good for kissing 😀

Mint Brownies

2 c. sugar
4 eggs

1 t. vanilla
1 c. butter, melted

1 c. flour
2/3 c. cocoa
1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt

1 c. Andes’ Candies bits

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray a 10×15 inch jelly roll pan; set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the sugar and eggs. Add the vanilla and butter and mix well. Combine the dry ingredients; add to batter and mix well. Fold in the candy bits.

Spread batter in prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until done. Cool on wire rack. Spread with frosting.

Frosting:
7 Tbsp. cocoa
7 Tbsp. butter, melted
3 c. confectioners’ sugar
5-6 Tbsp. whipping cream

Andes’ Candies bits

Beat together frosting ingredients, adding enough cream to achieve a spreading consistency. Frost brownies; sprinkle with candy bits.

3 Responses

  1. Skip the smooching and give me a brownie. 😉

  2. oh i will be making these…maybe tomorrow… 🙂

  3. […] mood lately. It’s not all bad. Lately I’ve been baking a few repeats, such as mint brownies, but Saturday night I made this chocolate pecan pie. It wasn’t as popular with the Tartlets […]

Comments are closed.

