Salmon Leftovers

Last week I intentionally bought a large salmon fillet so we could have salmon cakes from the leftovers. Usually I make my salmon cakes like I make crab cakes, although I often leave off the hazelnuts and generally make tartar sauce rather than berry sauce. Because I used the orange marmalade glaze on the entire salmon fillet, I decided to go a slightly different route with the leftovers and made a funky apricot-ginger aioli wanna-be to go with it. I also made a mushroom risotto, a first for me, which was average, not stellar but definitely edible. I served the salmon cakes and risotto with some fresh greens and fruit. Another nice meal for grownup tastes.

Salmon Cakes with Apricot-Ginger Aioli

3/4 lb. cooked salmon with orange glaze
1 egg
2 small celery stalks, chopped
2 Tbsp. chopped onion
1/3 c. ground flax meal

Mix all ingredients. Shape into patties. Cook on hot, greased skillet or grill about 2 minutes per side or until browned.

Apricot-Ginger Aioli

1/4 c. light mayonnaise
2 Tbsp. apricot preserves
1 Tbsp. soy sauce
1/2 t. white rice vinegar
1/8 t. fresh grated ginger

Stir together until smooth.

2 Responses

  1. We love salmon leftovers! One of our favorites is salmon fettucine with baby peas.

  2. […] Asian Noodle Salad from For the Love of Cooking, Chinese Broccoli Beef from Free Online Recipes, Salmon Cakes with Apricot-Ginger Aioli from Fruit Tart, Wild Mallard Duck with Balsamic Cherries and Lentils from Girl Interrupted Eating, […]

Comments are closed.

