Is it a Brownie or a Cake?

Last week we hosted a group for dinner and I was assigned to dessert. Because it was a casual meal, I wanted a casual dessert and thought I would make some brownies. I turned to a seldom used cookbook from my shelf and thought I’d try to find a use for it. The Chocolate Chip & Sour Cream Brownies sounded good, so I started there.

When it comes to brownies, there are many variations. Some are densely fudgy, some are a little more dry and bar cookie-like, some are thick and cakey. This is one of the latter. In fact, although I didn’t sprinkle powdered sugar after they were baked as the recipe suggests, I almost wished I had spread them with chocolate frosting and just called it a chocolate chip cake. It’s very tasty, but I’m not sure I’d call it a brownie.

Chocolate Chip & Sour Cream Brownie/Cake (from Chocolate Lover’s Cookies & Brownies)

1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. packed light brown sugar

1 egg
1 c. sour cream (I used part sour cream and part plain yogurt)
1 t. vanilla

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
2 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. semisweet chocolate chips

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter a 9×13 pan.

Cream butter and brown sugar in large bowl until blended. Add egg, sour cream, and vanilla; beat until light.

Add cocoa, baking soda, and salt; beat until smooth. Blend in flour until well mixed. Stir in chocolate chips; spread batter evenly in prepared pan.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until center springs back when touched. Cool in pan on wire rack. Sift powdered sugar over the top.