A Little Farm Food

This past week it was my turn to provide dessert for our small group. I was so indecisive, thinking about chocolate, not really wanting to heat the kitchen too much, waffling on ideas left and right. And then I walked by the rhubarb in the produce section of the Grocery and all was resolved right there. I knew I would make Citrus Bundt Cake with Rhubarb Sauce.

I don’t know where this recipe originated, but it was very popular when I was growing up on the farm. I know by looking at my handwritten copy that I either copied it while at Grandmother’s house during grad school or asked my mom to read the recipe to me over the phone during those years. Those were the days that all my recipes were written on blank 8 1/2 x 11 sheets with little more than a list of ingredients and a time and temperature for baking. Method? We don’t need no stinking method! πŸ™‚

The syrup makes this cake especially moist and is an essential part of the cake — don’t leave it off. Actually, I pour half of the syrup on the cake when it comes out of the oven and then pour the other half on after I turn the cake out of the pan, so both sides get some syrup.

The rhubarb sauce is worth making in larger quantities than the original recipe. I ended up making a slightly different syrup again the next day to have on our pancakes. The cake is also very good with blueberry sauce, strawberries, pretty much any fruit you can think of, as well as being awesome on it’s own. Due to the size of our group, I made two of these — one in my ‘normal’ Bundt pan and one in the Cathedral pan my mom gave me. While very beautiful, the cathedral pan is a pain to grease and flour, so it doesn’t come out of the cabinet as often as it might otherwise. 😦

Citrus Bundt Cake with Rhubarb Sauce
Cream together:
3/4 c. butter
1 3/4 c. sugar
3 eggs

Add:
3 c. flour
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 c. milk or plain yogurt
2 t. grated lemon peel
2 t. grated orange peel

Mix well.

Pour into greased & floured pan. Bake at 325 F. for 60-75 minutes.

Syrup
Boil:
2 Tbsp. lemon juice
2 Tbsp. orange juice
1/3 c. sugar

for 3 minutes
Drizzle over warm cake.

Rhubarb Sauce
2 Tbsp. sugar
2 Tbsp. cornstarch
1/4 c. water
1/4 c. honey
2 Tbsp. lemon juice
1/4 t. orange peel
1/4 t. lemon peel
2 c. rhubarb, cut finely

Boil all but rhubarb. Add rhubarb and boil 8 minutes.

5 Responses

  1. i will vouch for the deliciousness of this dish. yum-o! πŸ™‚

  2. This was one of my favorite dessert dishes. It was so light and citrusy. I was surprised by the flavor in this cake. (Although, Knowing you I shouldn’t have been that surprised.)

  3. I should also add that we could taste the love that went in to greasing and flouring the Cathedral pan.

  4. I am going to try this, but I don’t understand the difference between the syrup and the sauce. They are 2 different things? You do the syrup and then the sauce? COuld you switch strawberries and the rhubarb and still follow the same sauce recipe?

    My mom is getting a new stove and I’m so pumped. πŸ˜‰

  5. The clear citrus syrup is poured over the cake while it is warm. The rhubarb sauce is served on the side with the cake.

    I think if I were using strawberries, rather than cook them for the sauce, I would just slice them and sprinkle a little sugar over them to make them juicy. I prefer fresh strawberries to cooked, though. When I mention serving with other fruit sauces, I was meaning that you would ditch the rhubarb sauce altogether and make something different.

Comments are closed.

