Betty’s Teriyaki Chicken

Although I’ve enjoyed some good teriyaki at the homes of other people, I’ve never had good success trying to reproduce it at home.  And any of the bottled sauce I’ve purchased has been nothing but disappointing.  When I found this recipe for Grilled Teriyaki Chicken in my inbox, I was cautiously optimistic.  I only had enough ingredients on hand to make enough marinade for about half the drumsticks I purchased (I bought them rather than chicken breast because it was on sale!) and I thought it would be good to have some plain ones anyway, just in case this was a total loss.  It was anything but!  This was very popular.

I served it with some brown rice that I made using beef broth (because I didn’t have any chicken stock on hand) with fresh pineapple juice (~1/3 c. for 2 1/2 c. raw rice) and a few spoons of marinade before I added the chicken to it.  It was tasty, but could have used a little more of  the flavoring from the marinade and a little more pineapple juice.  We also had corn on the cob, green salad, and fresh fruit to round out the meal.  Mmm!  It was a great summer meal and one we will definitely repeat.  I’m copying the recipe here, just in case Betty Crocker dumps it from the site later.


Teriyaki Marinade (from BettyCrocker.com)

1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup orange juice
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I left this out since I was using skin-on drumsticks)
2 teaspoons grated gingerroot
2 cloves garlic, crushed
Chicken
8 bone-in chicken breast halves (about 3 pounds)

In shallow glass or plastic dish or heavy-duty resealable food-storage plastic bag, mix all Teriyaki Marinade ingredients.

Add chicken; turn to coat with marinade. Cover dish or seal bag and refrigerate, turning chicken occasionally, at least 1 hour but no longer than 24 hours.

Heat coals or gas grill for direct heat. Remove chicken from marinade; reserve marinade. Cover and grill chicken, skin sides up, 5 to 6 inches from medium heat 15 minutes. Turn chicken. Cover and grill 10 to 20 minutes longer, turning and brushing 2 or 3 times with marinade, until juice of chicken is no longer pink when centers of thickest pieces are cut. Discard any remaining marinade.

