This Is Shortcake?

Other than baking cookies and making Jell-O Parfaits, the first real dessert I remember making all by myself (age 13) was a huge strawberry shortcake (I remember it as being a triple batch!) that I baked in a Bundt pan and l sliced in half and layered with strawberries and Dream Whip on my mom’s green glass pedestal plate and served to some of my mom’s friends for whom I had cooked dinner. I remember wanting it to look just like the one in the Betty Crocker cookbook and it turned out very well.

Strawberry shortcake is still a favorite of mine, but typically I think of shortcake as being almost biscuit-like, just a little sweeter. So I was a little curious about this recipe for shortcake in my “Delicious Summer Desserts” booklet from Gold Medal (Betty Crocker/General Mills — it’s all the same company) and it didn’t look biscuit-like at all. And, in fact, it’s not. But it *is* very tasty!

Shortcake

3 eggs
3/4 c. sugar
1 c. plus 2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/3 c. hot water
1 t. lemon extract (original calls for vanilla)

Fresh fruit
Whipped cream

Heat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour 9×9 inch square pan or 9-inch round pan; set aside.

Beat eggs in large bowl on high speed until very thick and lemon colored. Gradually beat in sugar. Beat in flour, baking powder, and salt on low speed. Gradually beat in water and extract on low speed. Pour into pan.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool. Split short cake, fill and top with fruit and whipped cream.

3 Responses

  1. It was yummy and so light. Eggs are beautiful things. I missed them.

  2. That look absolutely amazing. Lovely light and fluffy, oh, drooling now šŸ˜› I hope you saved me a slice!

  3. Mmm looks delicious!

Comments are closed.

