My New Favorite Cookie

I’m not famous for my cookies like say, Lynn, and part of that is because I only have a few recipes that turn out exactly how I want them to be. I’ve tried several recipes for chocolate chip cookies — I keep optimistically returning to the Tollhouse recipe, even though it never turns out as well for me as it seems to for others, only to be disappointed. In February I tried a recipe from my King Arthur’s Flour Company cookbook and, while they were pretty tasty right out of the oven, they were too crunchy for my tastes later. The recipe suggested keeping a slice of bread in the box with them and it really needed that and then some.

Today I wanted to bake some chocolate chip cookies for The Husband (his favorite) to take with him on a road trip and to have some extras for the freezer and it coincided with me sorting through some of my bookmarked blog pages to see if any of them had vaporized since I last saw them or if the recipe was something I really wanted to keep or if it was just time to let some of them go. And here on the list was this January post from Erin Cooks for chocolate chip cookies, but not just *any* chocolate chip cookies, these have pecans and coconut in them! As to other differences, you chill the dough before baking and use a lower oven temp than I usually find in a cookie recipe.

Naturally I started mixing things up before I realized that I had about 2 scant tablespoons of coconut in the house so I modified the recipe for what I had on hand. I used 1 1/2 c. granola (it had sunflower seeds, coconut, and pecans in it) and the little bit of flake coconut I had with 1 1/2 c. untoasted chopped pecans in place of the 2 c. pecans and 1 c. coconut. I also only used a 12 oz bag of chocolate chips plus a partial bag (~1/2 a bag?) that I had open in the cabinet. They came out of the oven quite puffed up and didn’t look very much like chocolate chip cookies, so I was a little apprehensive at first. As I transferred them to the cooling racks, they sunk down and developed a lovely topography with chocolate chip and pecan hills and soft doughy valleys. Sometime I’ll have to try the recipe as it is written, but it was absolutely wonderful as I ended up making it.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for the link. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the recipe! Amanda Hesser definitely knows how to make a cookie that gives even diamonds a run for their money when it comes to being a girl’s best friend.

  2. Your cookies look fabulous!

Comments are closed.

