SHF #43: Citrus!

When Tartelette announced the upcoming Sugar High Friday, brainchild of Jennifer of Domestic Goddess, with a theme of citrus, Oh! I had so many ideas. Some of them turned out better in my head than in reality. But the one you see pictured here is among the very best and the concept for it belongs to Tartlet 1. Back when the Daring Bakers tackled the Lemon Meringue Pie, Tartlet 1 loved the meringue but not the lemon filling and asked why the ‘lemon meringue’ didn’t mean meringue, like the meringue mushrooms, but lemon flavored. At that time I also had the idea to make an orange meringue pie rather than lemon as I thought it might be more palatable to certain household members.

So I did bake an orange meringue pie, using a pie crust made from chocolate sandwich cookies and using the Daring Baker recipe for the filling except using orange rather than lemon and the same meringue recipe. Because I remembered the meringue being quite a lot for the pie, I spread some on the pie and reserved the rest for the lemon meringue experiment. To the remaining meringue I added 1/2 t. lemon extract and about 2 Tbsp. lemon juice and beat it until it was thick and glossy again. Then I spread a heaping tablespoon of meringue on a parchment sheet and made about a 3-inch circle. Next, I piped meringue around the edge to make a cup. I baked these in a 225 F oven for about 30 minutes. I was hoping they would stay light colored but they did brown. The filling is just strawberries and sugar stirred together. These little meringue cups are my entry to Sugar High Friday. As a bonus, I’ll give you a slice of Orange Meringue Pie too.


3 Responses

  1. Those meringues look absoutely amazing, great job!

  2. Beautiful job on the meringue cups! I love the orange tart experiment too! Thanks for participating!

  3. This looks sooooooooooooooooooooo YUMMY!!!

Comments are closed.

