On A Roll

One of the treats that I used to love best was a Hostess Ho-Ho. When I was a college student, the vending machine was sometimes stocked with them and I would leave ‘thank you’ post-it notes on the vending machine for the Vending Machine Man each time he restocked them. We sometimes called them the ‘HoHo love’ letters. šŸ™‚

For years I haven’t eaten one, unable to bring myself to buy them. Then a couple of weeks ago I splurged and bought some, anticipating great Ho-Ho love again. I was decidedly disappointed. They were just sort of ‘blah’. But in my mind I remember them being so chocolaty and sweet and it kept me craving those flavors. So when our friends and fellow chocolate lovers said they would be in town and could come over for dinner, I decided I would make my own, giant Ho-Ho.

I used the Betty Crocker recipe for chocolate roll and filled it with some Lite Cool Whip (I was a little too generous when spreading it on, though) and then covered the entire thing with a thick ganache. I added a little shortening to the ganache to make it firmer and I put the roll in the freezer for 20 minutes or so before I coated it so the chocolate would firm quickly. I poured some over the base and let it harden and then turned it over and coated the top. It was very sweet and chocolaty, and much better than either my memory or the recent Ho-Ho taste.

Then I baked a second batch of the chocolate roll recipe but unfortunately I left it in the oven about 5 minutes too long, which is *way* too long for a jelly roll pan. I spread a little chocolate syrup on top hoping it would moisten the cake, but it remained far too dry after it was cut. I cut the roll into four strips and layered it with a chocolate buttercream frosting and then decorated it with a glossy chocolate frosting.

It looked a lot better than it tasted due to the dry cake layers. šŸ˜¦ I took it to an end-of-the-year celebration for Tartlet 4’s art preschool class, where it was appreciated because kids always seem to like the frosting better than the cake anyway. šŸ˜‰

Finally, I baked yet another jelly roll, this time with almond flavoring rather than chocolate. I layered it with a thin layer of sliced strawberries and then Swiss buttercream frosting, similar to that used in the Yule Log but, rather than cocoa or coffee, I used a little almond extract to flavor it.

This one went to work with The Husband for a co-worker’s birthday. Happy Birthday, Lori!

Jelly Roll (from Betty Crocker)

1 c. cake flour or 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt

3 eggs (1/2 to 2/3 c.)
1 c. sugar
1/3 c. water
1 t. vanilla (or other flavoring)

Heat oven to 375 F. Line jelly roll pan (10 x 15) with parchment paper or foil; grease well.

In a small bowl stir together flour, baking powder and salt; set aside. In a medium bowl, beat eggs about 5 minutes or until very thick and lemon colored. Gradually beat in sugar. On low speed, blend in water and vanilla. Gradually add dry ingredients, beating just until batter is smooth. Pour into pan, spreading batter to corners.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Loosen cake from edges of pan; invert on towel sprinkled with confectioners’ sugar. Carefully removed foil; trim off stiff edges if necessary.

While hot, roll cake and towel from narrow end. Cool on wire rack. Unroll cake; remove towel. Fill as desired and roll up.

Variations:
Chocolate Roll: Add 3/4 c. cocoa to the dry ingredients. Fill with whipped cream.

Lemon Cake Roll: Spread unrolled cake with lemon curd. Roll up; sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar. Chill at least 1 hour. Serve with sweetened whipped cream.


Photo courtesy of The Husband

One Response

  1. Thank you so much, this was so good, almost too pretty to eat!
    Thanks for sending this in!! You are so amazing! When are you going to open your bakery?

Comments are closed.

