Colorful Cruciferous Veggie Pasta

People are sometimes surprised to hear that there are days that even I don’t want to cook. I’d rather bake than cook anyway, as you’ve no doubt deduced already, but I get tired of the same old reruns and thinking about what to make that will please most of the people at the table. Some days, about once a week, I just want to pick up the phone and call for Dos Reales take away or order a pizza. Unfortunately, as our family has grown it means that we can’t easily get away with that for under $30. So about once a week we have what I would consider the next best thing to ordering out — pasta.

I *LOVE* pasta. Unfortunately, The Husband not so much . . . or at least I thought so until The Great Impasta seemed to have become his favorite restaurant and then I finally realized that it wasn’t the pasta he hated, it was the tomato-based sauces that I love. He likes thick pastas like linguine and fettucini and he loves creamy alfredo and pesto, but *not* tomato. Tartlet 1 is the same — loves the pesto and cheesy pasta but rejects tomato-based sauces. So some days I please the rest of our family and we boil a box of pasta and open a jar of tomato based sauce and warm some Italian bread and have a salad or a bag of frozen veggies and we have dinner for $6 instead of take out and have to hear at least one person at the table complain about the meal (The Husband doesn’t complain, *ever*) and some days I do something a little different. Today was one of the latter.

I’ve seen purple cauliflower at The Grocery a few times but haven’t tried it before. It was on sale this week and Tartlet 2 was just talking about she likes ‘white broccoli’ (cauliflower) so I thought I’d see what she thought of purple. I picked up a variety of other veggies (broccoli, snow peas, zucchini, carrots, roasted red peppers, and onion) and lightly stir-poached them with some garlic and seasoned it with basil and a little oregano. Then I tossed it with some angel hair pasta and grated Parmesan cheese. A nice light meal with plenty of colorful vegetables.

Ruth at Once Upon A Feast hosts a weekly Presto Pasta event and I absolutely love the variety and old favorites served up there. Go check out the weekly roundups and I’ll serve up a plate of this.

5 Responses

  1. Whoa, that is some beautiful pasta. And I also don’t like pasta. But maybe I’d like this. I bet it’d be good with couscous instead of the pasta… but I should probably keep giving pasta another shot.

  2. A very beautiful pasta indeed! Looking at the photo makes me think I’m walking through a glorious spring garden. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Night.

  3. I have to agree with The Husband. Nice, thick, firm pastas are great. Tomato sauces not so much. I usually have butter, salt, and pepper on my pasta while the rest of the family adorns theirs with red sauce.

    Has he tried the Impasta’s gorgonzola fettuccine?

  4. I love pasta of all kinds with all types of sauce, I could eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner… and probably sometimes do… The colours on those veggies are crazy!

  5. fantastic! I love that. Never have seen the purple cauliflower before…

Comments are closed.

