Chocolate Caramel Cookies

As you may have noticed, I really like the combination of chocolate and caramel, especially with pecans. So it’s a no-brainer that I would like these cookies.

This cookie recipe is another Pillsbury Bake-Off recipe, and it won a $2000 prize in 1990! It appears in several different Pillsbury cookbooks, which is just a sign that Pillsbury knows a good recipe to sell cookbooks. I made these for the men’s retreat, but I made a double batch and saved some for us. In fact, these cookies are so good that I think you should always make a double batch. They freeze well if you don’t put the white candy coating on first so you can have a good supply in the freezer for those sudden cravings and surprise guests and, if you make these cookies, you’ll find that you have more friends who drop by unexpectedly! 😉 They are especially good while still warm from the oven, when the caramel is softer.

Caramel-Filled Chocolate Cookies (from the 34th Pillsbury Bake-Off)

2 1/2 c. flour
3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa
1 t. baking soda

1 c. sugar
1 c. firmly packed brown sugar
1 c. margarine or butter, softened
2 t. vanilla
2 eggs

1/2 c. chopped pecans
48 Rolo Chewy Caramels in Milk Chocolate, unwrapped
1/2 c. chopped pecans
1 Tbsp. sugar
4 oz. vanilla-flavored candy coating, if desired

Lightly spoon flour into measure cup; level off. In medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa and baking soda; mix well.

In large bowl, combine sugars and butter; beat until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and eggs; beat well. Add flour mixture; blend well. Stir in 1/2 c. of the pecans. If necessary; cover with plastic wrap; refrigerate 30 minutes for easier handling.

Heat oven to 375 F. For each cookie, with floured hands, shape about 1 Tbsp dough around 1 caramel candy, covering completely.

In small bowl, combine remaining 1/2 c. pecans and 1 Tbsp. sugar. Press one side of each ball into pecan mixture. Place, nut side up, 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake at 375 F for 7-10 minutes or until set and slightly cracked. Cool 2 minutes; removed from cookie sheets. Cool on wire rack for 15 minutes or until completely cooled.

Melt candy coating in small saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly until smooth. Drizzle over cookies.

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

19 Responses

  1. These look so yummy! I love the chocolate-caramel-pecan combination too!

  2. Mmmm, those do look good! Just yesterday I was looking for some recipe… any recipe with chocolate and caramel. I think this fits the bill, thanks!

  3. I tried a similar recipe once, but these look SO much better!! Yum!

  4. They look sensational! I have to make them soon! I can’t wait! i am praying that rolos are suitable for vegetarians! I wonder what I could use if they aren’t? 🙂

  5. Were these standard rolos or is this another version that you have? Rolos seem quite big to put in a cookie. Do they squidge down?

  6. These were so good. I can’t put it into words.

  7. Great looking cookies! I did something similar with chocolate and peanut butter this weekend. Delicious!

  8. Those look awesome! I so want to make cookies right now!

  9. Hi..i just chanced upon ur website. may i ask what its meant by ‘2 c’, ‘1 c’ in this recipe? And what is Rolo Chewy Caramels in Milk Chocolate? is it chocolate with caramel filing?

  10. thanks alot 🙂

  11. These look awesome! I haven’t had a Rolo in ages…what a great ides to put them in cookies!

  12. Hierdie koekies lyk verskriklik lekker!!! Ek gaan dit sommer more probeer maak. 😉

  13. Have you ever used carob in place of chocolate?
    I know many people avoid carob, but I find that the trick is to find the right brand and then you’ll really see that carob can be (almost) as good as chocolate.

    The brand I use is from holyfoodimports.com
    which comes from Israel, so it does have an excellent and unique taste.

  14. These look delicious. How would it work to add chocolate chips and the little caramel balls into it, instead of the rolos? I’m just thinking I have these on hand, but not the rolos. I can hardly wait to try the actual recipe, but I might just play with it the first time since I have similar items on hand. Thanks for the recipe~!!!

  15. I decided to put less sugar, and I omitted the nut and candy coating since my friend had eaten all my nuts without my knowing, but the cookies still came out really well =D A lot of cookies are really, really sweet, but these were awesome. Thank you for the recipe!

  16. I made these tonight without nuts and they were amazing. everyone was scarfing them. The Rolos worked really well. You just make little flat cookies out of the dough, then put the Rolo in the middle, then round the cookie out around it. Good times. Good cookies!

  17. erm ,looks delicious ,im going to try the recope at instant!! but where can i get the rolos caramel?? or can i substitue it with something else,cause I don’t think they sell Rolos in Malaysia?

  18. Heaven – athough hell for me on the Atkins Diet! lol – torture agggghhhhh!

  19. […] Fruit Tart caramel, chewy, chocolate, cookies, pecan, […]

Comments are closed.

