Truffling With Your Affections

Today was the farewell for Mrs. V. The astute reader may remember there was a farewell last fall but only Mr. V. left us for TX at that time. Now their house has finally sold and they will be reunited (*yay!*) but we are sad to see them leave (*boo!*). Once again I wanted to make something that would suit her particular list of allergies. I made truffles.

You may be saying to yourself, “That doesn’t seem allergy friendly at all,” but I made several kinds. I saw some recipes online for goat cheese truffles, from several sources so I don’t have a specific link, and decided to play with that concept a little to make it edible for our friend. For the savory batch I simply copied a recipe I saw repeatedly — smooth some goat cheese around a grape and roll it in ground pistachios, all foods Mrs. V. can eat!

For the ‘sweet’ ones, I used agave syrup for the sweetener and used both unsweetened chocolate and cocoa powder to flavor the cheese. I rolled some of these in pistachios and some in cocoa powder.

In addition, I made some non-allergy friendly cold s’mores. I rolled a large marshmallow (small ones would have been nice, if I had some) in chocolate ganache (heat whipping to simmering and add chopped chocolate, stir until melted and smooth), allowing the ‘excess chocolate’ (is there such a thing?!) to drip off before rolling the marshmallow in graham cracker crumbs. I made some ‘regular’ truffles as well.

And now I leave you for a week while we go play at the beach, my most favorite week of the year! I have a little something in store for you next week while I’m gone, so hopefully you won’t miss me too much. πŸ˜‰

Chocolate Goat Cheese Truffles

2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, melted
5 Tbsp. agave syrup
2 Tbsp. canola oil
5 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa
12 oz. plain goat cheese

In a small bowl, stir together chocolate, agave syrup, oil, and cocoa until smooth. In a medium bowl, beat the goat cheese for 30 seconds. Add the chocolate mixture and beat well. Roll into balls and toppings of your choice.

4 Responses

  1. The truffles were delicious! I tried every variety except the s’mores (but only because those disappeared before I got one.) We were sorry you couldn’t be there to enjoy them with us. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, you sure were busy, those look awesome!

  3. Wow–what a great idea! I can’t wait to turn my goat cheese into a truffle. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve looked up your recipe several times and made them when I get an urge for truffles. One time I looked it up at work and made them for Valentine’s Day, but work won’t let me post on blogs, so couldn’t write and say thanks.
    Sarah found a recipe for me in a book called Rawvolution where the main ingredient is ground nuts along with agave and cocoa. I may try some combination of the two recipes tonight because the cheese ones seem softer in texture. We are still dealing with allergies. Sarah is on my diet now too – to hopefully help deal with her thyroid condition and weight.
    Hope all is well with you guys and that you had another great trip to the beach. It’s hard to believe we’ve been gone over a year.

Comments are closed.

