Shakin’ It Up

Last Friday morning we were awoken by a rattling sound and a shaking sensation. Concerned that the kid in the room next to us had fallen out of bed, we checked on her — sleeping soundly. Next The Husband checked for an intruder or things falling in the garage. Nothing. I remember groggily saying, ‘Husband, it felt like the whole house shook. What could do that?’ Well, an earthquake could. A few hours later as I sat at my computer, the hair on my arms stood up and my fingers tingled and suddenly my seat and computer desk were shaking. Thing 2 screamed, certain we were all going to die. Seconds after the shaking stopped, the tingling stopped in my fingers. It was really weird. Having no experience with earthquakes, it was a little unsettling.

I’ll blame that unsettled feeling on why I couldn’t follow a recipe and instead created my own after I had dumped a few things in the mixing bowl. It’s probably not the Earth’s fault at all, since I seem to have little capacity for following a recipe normally, but it sounds better than I’m just ‘knot-headed’, as my grandparents would say. 😉 I had a bag of Andes’ Candies Bits on hand and wanted to make a chocolaty cookie for them. I started out with something like the Tollhouse recipe in front of me for the base and my failure to follow instructions resulted in this:

Chocolate Mint Chip Cookies

1 c. butter (2 sticks)
1 c. packed brown sugar
3/4 c. granulated sugar
1 t. vanilla
3 eggs
3 Tbsp. cocoa
2 1/3 c. flour
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 pkg Andes Candies Bits

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Cream together butter and sugars. Add vanilla and eggs and beat well. Beat in cocoa. Add the remaining dry ingredients and beat well. Stir in mint chips.

Drop by teaspoons onto ungreased sheet covered with parchment paper. Bake about 8 minutes or until edges are set and center is still slightly soft. Remove cookies to rack to cool.

Makes about 5 dozen cookies.

2 Responses

  1. We had another aftershock last night. Enough already and stop waking me up! Sadly, my earthquake didn’t produce cookies.

  2. hehe . . . I thought I felt something too and then convinced myself it was just The Husband rolling over in bed! 😉

Comments are closed.

