Orange Glazed Carrots

This is my favorite way to have cooked carrots. I like carrots in most of my soups but I rarely cook them alone except this way. The kids aren’t fond of cooked carrots and I don’t think The Husband is either, although he usually won’t say anything negative about food, especially in front of the kids. So I only make them a couple of times a year, like Easter. This post is for M&M who especially enjoyed them. I’m sorry I don’t have a close up of the carrots, just of them on the table with everything else.

Orange Glazed Carrots (from Betty Crocker, 1969)

1 1/2 lbs fresh carrots (sliced, baby carrots, whatever you like)
1/3 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 t. salt (optional)
1/2 t. grated orange peel
2 Tbsp. butter

Steam carrots and set aside (for Easter I steam the day before and refrigerate and then glaze and reheat just prior to the meal).

In large skillet, cook and stir brown sugar, salt, orange peel and butter until bubbly. Add carrots; cook over low heat, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes or until carrots are glazed and heated through.

I like to add a little juice from the orange too. It makes them less glazed and more saucy, but the sauce is so good over ham!

2 Responses

  1. My mom made something like this when I was little sans orange. No one in my family (except for her!) really liked them but my dad didn’t say anything either. Who would guess that kids wouldn’t like something with brown sugar in it!

  2. […] soon!) Green salad with grape tomatoes, cucumber, jicama, pignolia Green Peas Steamed Asparagus Orange Glazed Carrots Sauteed Mushrooms and Onions (mmm, so tasty with the lamb!) Dinner […]

Comments are closed.

