Happy Spring!

I’m busy with schooling and getting ready for Easter dinner, which will be similar to last year’s meal but with different desserts and maybe a few changes in the veggies. This week is Spring Break for most of this town, but we’re taking our school break later, when the Grandparents come for Tartlet 1’s birthday. Last week Tartlets 3 & 4 had spring parties in their art preschool classes, so I made sugar cookies for the snacks. I used lemon in both the cookies and the frosting.

This batch isn’t my neatest as I was scrambling to have them finished the morning of the class, but my tip for good frosting results is to use a zip baggie with the corner snipped off to pipe icing around the edge and let it sit for a few minutes before you fill the rest. It will keep the frosting from running off the edge and give a sharper result.  These sat a little too long waiting for their filling so they have a more pronounced outline.  The kids especially love to decorate their own cookies.

Sugar Cookie Frosting
3 Tbsp. melted butter
4 c. powdered sugar
1/2 t. lemon extract
milk to reach desired consistency

Mix together until smooth. Dye as desired.

4 Responses

  1. Adorable cookies! I made egg shaped sugar cookies but used only a little frosting. I love these because they are decked out in delicious & colorful frostings!! yum!

  2. Wonderful cookies!!

  3. Your cookies are adorable! I love them. Happy Easter!

  4. nice!!!!

    i feel the SPRING!! Thanks!

Comments are closed.

