Breakfast With Dorie

I had mentioned before that I wanted to make Dorie’s lemon poppy seed muffins from her Baking book. I am addicted to Poppy Seed Salad Dressing and have it on a salad with a little chicken or ham, tomatoes, cuke, or sometimes it’s just greens, whatever I have on hand, for lunch at least 3-4 days/week. I probably couldn’t pass a drug test! 😛 I also love lemon poppy seed anything.

So I finally got some poppy seeds and made these, without the lemon glaze, because they’re so good they don’t really need any topping. With it, I think they could easily pass for dessert. One of the interesting things about this recipe is she has you rub the lemon zest into the sugar with your fingers. Ooooh, the fragrant result is amazing. In fact, I was thinking that the next time I want to make fresh lemonade and don’t have quite enough lemons for what I want, I’ll bet I could zest the lemons I have and rub it in with the sugar I’m going to use, and then add the lemon juice and water like usual and it would still have enough flavor. Just a thought.

I’m not going to share the recipe because I followed it exactly from her book (p. 10) and, at the risk of sounding like Brilynn or a paid advertiser, this is a cookbook worth buying and I’m not going to post a recipe I didn’t change at all when I expect to post several Dorie baking experiences here.  Since my cooling rack is just like the one in the photo in her book, I couldn’t help but take the pictures on top of my marble board too! 😉

3 Responses

  1. These look delicious! And gorgeous! I make poppy seed muffins for all my travels, I shall have to make a batch with Dorie.

  2. Would it be so bad to sound like Brilynn…? :p
    This was one of the first Dorie recipes I made and ever since then I always rub zest into the sugar when it calls for zest in any recipe, regardless of when it tells me to add the zest.

  3. oooo these look gorgeous, nothing like the lovely crunchy seeds and the lemoneyness tooo, must get myself a Dorie book

Comments are closed.

