Gifts From Grandmother

My Grandmother died a few years ago and sometimes I miss her terribly. She and Grandpap made an interesting team, frequently bickering, rolling their eyes at each other, and giving each other little kisses. Grandmother would putter in the kitchen and liked to try new things. She would send me a photocopy of a recipe she found with her comments in the margins, sometimes she tried them first.

In the 80’s it was common for companies to sell recipe cards in which you bought 10-20 recipes at a time and the ‘introductory offer’ included a plastic organizing box and divider cards ‘free’. Grandmother would save the sample cards and, especially if she found some good ones, pass on the duplicates to me. This recipe is called ‘Quick Cherry Dessert’ and came from such a card. These were produced during the fascination with microwave cooking, so all of the recipes *except* the cherry dessert have microwave instructions on the back of the card.

This one is a keeper. It has a dense cake, almost like pound cake, and reminds me of what I call ‘farm food’. It’s not at all like Dorie’s light and fluffy party cake, which I wanted to bake for a special occasion the instant I saw it, but a more rustic, homey cake. It works for breakfast too, I think. 😀 This recipe is one of the reasons I keep a can of cherry pie filling in the pantry as a staple. I find it useful for a number of things, but this dessert can be whipped up with short notice and it’s very good.

Quick Cherry Dessert

1 c. butter
1 ½ c. granulated sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp. almond extract
2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder

1 can (21 oz) cherry pie filling

Powdered sugar to dust over top, optional

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add the eggs. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the almond extract. Stir in the flour and baking powder. Mix until smooth.

Butter a 9 x 13 inch cake pan. Turn the mixture into the pan. Spoon the pie filling into the cake, in 16 spots, spacing 4 spoonfuls evenly in each direction.

Bake at 350 F for 45-50 minutes or until golden and cake tests done. Filling will sink into the cake while baking.

To serve, cut into 16 pieces. Place bottom side up on serving plate. Dust with powdered sugar, if used. Spoon slightly sweetened whipped cream over each serving, if desired. This is great served warm.

I usually don’t turn them upside down and just put the powdered sugar on top in the pan.

Notes:
Also good with blueberry filling and lemon extract.

6 Responses

  1. This looks so yummy!!! I love cherry pie filling. …and I totally had those recipe cards. I loved them although I don’t know that I ever made the recipes!

  2. I have many of those recipe cards, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever made anything from them! This sounds absolutely delicious!

  3. your description of your grandparents reminds me so much of mine!!

    that’s a pretty, pretty, pretty cake, and too easy not to make!

  4. I made this tonight for some company and everyone loved it! It was super easy and looked beautiful (even with my humble cooking ability). What a great recipe — I’m looking forward to trying blueberries in it, too. Thanks for sharing this!

  5. I think it’s funny how many of us collect these recipes that we’ve never tried! This is one of the few that I’ve used. Ebenezers — glad to hear it was a success for you too!

  6. My mum has these cards still I think, nothing like getting a bargain with a free divider and a box to hold them!!! Must look them out and make something from them

Comments are closed.

