SHF: Baking With Candy

When I saw Candy Recapper’s theme for January’s Sugar High Friday (started by Jennifer of Domestic Goddess), two recipes came to mind, and both of them are from Pillsbury Bake Off cookbooks. One of my great auction finds a few years ago was a box of PBO cookbooks, starting I think with #5 and working up to the late 80’s. I had a few of my own, beginning in the 90’s, so I nearly have a full collection of them! It’s amazing how many popular favorites are former PBO recipes.

The one I chose is called ‘Toffee Apple Coffee Time Bars’ by Patricia A. Harmon of Baden, PA from the 1996 PBO. The original recipe calls for coffee in the powdered sugar glaze but, as I’ve told you repeatedly how I feel about coffee and our mutual rejection, my glaze is just plain old vanilla glaze. I love these bars. They have a great combination of crunch and gooey, stickiness and definitely qualify for a sugar high. I cut mine a little small so I can trick myself into thinking that it’s not as bad if I have two. Half the pan, however, is still bad, no matter how you slice it.

Toffee Apple Bars

Crust:
2 c. flour
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 c. butter

Filling:
1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated)
1 t. vanilla
1/2 t. cinnamon
1 egg
1 c. chopped, peeled apple (I used my favorite Braeburn apples)
1 c. chopped pecans
1 c. Heath toffee baking bits

Glaze:
1 c. powdered sugar
1/2 t. vanilla
2-3 Tbsp. milk

Heat oven to 350F.

Lightly spoon flour into measuring cup; level off. In medium bowl, combine flour and powdered sugar. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Press in bottom of ungreased 9×13-inch pan. Bake for 15 minutes or until set.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, cinnamon and egg; blend well. Stir in remaining filling ingredients; mix well. Pour mixture over partially baked crust.

Bake an additional 30-40 minutes, or until filling is set and edges are golden brown. Cool 10 minutes. Run knife around sides of pan to loosen. Cool 1 hour or until completely cooled.

In a small bowl, combine glaze ingredients, adding enough milk to achieve desired consistency. Drizzle over bars. Let stand 10 minutes or until glaze is set. Cut into bars. Store in a loosely covered container.

2 Responses

  1. Wow, I just stumbled upon this site looking for a lime cupcake recipe and I can’t get off it. I feel like making five of these desserts tonight!!

  2. […] pineapple, honeydew, and red seedless grapes Baklava (made with pistachios rather than walnuts) Apple Toffee Bars Orange Nanaimo Bars Almond Balls Orange Cheesecake covered with Chocolate […]

Comments are closed.

