Liquid Diet

No worries, Fruittart is not about to start on one of those wacky protein shake diets, drinking a chalk solution from a tin as a substitute for meals made of real food. Blech. And I hope the annual January weight loss frenzy hasn’t convinced you to do it, either. Even Thing 1 has been asking lately why is it that *every* single newspaper and magazine has some headline about weight loss?

During the summer, I like to make fruit and yogurt smoothies as a dessert for our family, but they also work for breakfast any time of the year.  This is the kind of liquid diet I can at least replace one meal with, although I doubt it serves for weight loss.  Especially since Thing 4 didn’t like it, so I helped her finish her glass too! Everyone else calls them ‘milkshakes’ and thinks they are really getting something decadent. Shhh! Don’t tell them how good it is for them!

I bought an excessive number of bananas last week and the family seems to have gone on a banana eating strike, so I had an excessive number of brown bananas. The family can only stand so many variations of banana muffins before they won’t eat any those either. Yesterday I made a gallon of fresh vanilla yogurt using my favorite yogurt as the starter. This morning I made smoothies. Oh, yum!

Banana Blueberry Smoothies:

2-3 overripe bananas
2-3 Tbsp. blueberry syrup
3-4 Tbsp. frozen orange juice concentrate
2 c. yogurt
1/2 – 1 c. frozen blueberries

Blend until smooth.

Repeat as desired!

One Response

  1. Yeah… a trip to the grocery store is long overdue! looks yummy!

    B-

Comments are closed.

