Warm Comfort for a Cold Night

Sorry to have slipped off the edge of the Earth (we live in Illinois, of course it’s flat!). I didn’t mean to abandon you for so long. We ate some New Year’s leftovers and I haven’t been generating anything spectacular — meatloaf and mashed potatoes, egg rolls that were originally intended to be part of the NYE menu, meatball sandwiches, pasta, and the lack of dessert matches the bleak January weather. I thought I’d look in my draft folder to see if I had anything to offer and, lo and behold, it was the very same thing I had just made again — potato leek soup! Here are the leftovers from the December pot:

And here is the pot from yesterday:

They are actually a little different. I think I have some sort of genetic propensity toward the ‘a little of this, a little of that’ method of soup making. Frequently when I make soups I use chicken broth for part of the liquid and then use milk or tomatoes to finish. I rarely use cream in creamy soups, opting instead to use chicken broth and Lactaid milk. It definitely makes a thinner soup so sometimes I add a little flour to thicken it slightly. For the first soup pictured above, I used chicken broth and a little flour with the milk; for the second picture, I didn’t have any chicken broth on hand and just used straight Lactaid 2% milk.

Basic Potato Leek Soup

1/2 – 1 lb bacon, chopped & browned
2 leeks, sliced
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
3-4 lbs potatoes, chopped
chicken broth and/or milk
salt & pepper to taste

Cook bacon (tip:if you do it in a separate pan, your soup will end up lighter colored–that’s what I did for the first pot, but for the second I was lazy and did it all in one pan).

In a large pot, sautee leeks with cooked bacon, adding a little bacon fat if needed. Add garlic and stir for a minute or two.

Add potatoes and enough chicken broth or milk to cover. Cook over medium heat until potatoes are tender. Adjust liquid with milk or milk/flour mixture to desired consistency.

One Response

  1. My soups never turn out the same either, I’m always adding a new ingredient or forgetting an old one!

Comments are closed.

