A Housewarming Gift

Back when I first started my blog, it was mostly a different form of communication with some church friends and I’d post a recipe here and there. And then I started getting a lot more page views, particularly for recipes, than people I could account for, unless someone’s cat was sleeping on the keyboard or batting the mouse on ‘refresh’. When I first dipped my toes into the larger pool of food blogs, I was thrilled and amazed by the world out there. One of the first food blogs I started reading regularly was Culinary Concoctions by Peabody. Her posts are so fun and her food so beautiful, I couldn’t wait to see what she might make next. She totally had me with this post and now if I only have time to read a few blogs, hers is one of the ones I check.

The exciting news for Peabody (and Husband and dog) is a new house, which looks especially cute in the snow and has a larger kitchen, so we can only anticipate all the yummy goodness to come! She invited us to join her for a housewarming party.

When I think of a housewarming gift, or nearly any gift really, I think in part it should reflect the unique tastes of the recipient as well as something of the giver’s. In my mind, a gift should have layers of meaning, not just grabbing the first thing you see on the shelf with a ‘that ought to do’ sigh of relief. With that in mind, I made Peabody a chocolate peanut butter tart. You really need to read this post about Jif to understand part of it, but Peabody has mentioned many times the love she and her husband have for peanut butter and chocolate. It had to be a tart because it’s coming from me! 😉

Peabody & household — I wish all happiness in your new home!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Tart

Crust:
1 1/3 c. flour
1/2 c. brown sugar
2/3 c. butter

Preheat oven to 400 F. Blend together until crumbly. Press into the bottom of tart pan. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

Filling:
8 oz. cream cheese
1 c. Jif peanut butter
1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
2-3 Tbsp. milk
1 t. vanilla

Beat together cream cheese and peanut butter. Add powdered sugar, milk and vanilla and beat until thick and smooth. Adjust consistency with milk or powdered sugar if needed. Spread onto crust.

Topping:
1 c. chocolate chips
1/4 c. sour cream

Melt chocolate chips in a heavy pan over low heat. Add room temperature sour cream and stir until smooth. Pour over the filling.

Chill.

8 Responses

  1. Wow! This is a sinful and delicious tart!

  2. I do *love* chocolate and peanut butter!

  3. I am so touched at how much thought you put into your dish…thinking about my Jif obsession, our love of chocolate and peanut butter and of course a tart because it comes from you! Thanks so much for making this…it looks amazing.

  4. […] Melody of Fruit Tart was very thoughtful about what she was bringing to the party. Being that her blog has tarts in the name, a tart it was…but what kind? Knowing  my love of Jif and both my husband and I’s love of peanut butter and chocolate she made us this sinful Chocolate Peanut Butter Tart. […]

  5. This looks like the perfect housewarming gifts!

  6. We were quite honored to be on the list to receive a sample of this tart. Everyone here liked the tart (except me, not being a peanut butter fan). And my husband agrees with your husband that it was a “2 glasses of milk” dessert. Thanks for thinking of us!
    I appreciate your creativity, M!

  7. Thanks for the kind words.

    C — I’ll have to remember you don’t like peanut butter and like your chocolate milky! 😉

  8. […] February 23, 2008 at 5:03 pm · Filed under food, inspiration, peanut butter, recipes and tagged: baking, cake, cookie, peanut butter, pie, ratio of peanut butter and chocolate, reese’s, torte A Housewarming Gift « Fruit Tart […]

Comments are closed.

