Maybe Not-So-Clueless in the Kitchen

Another gluten-free baking success story! Yay! 🙂 I may not be quite ready to create my own recipes from scratch, but I can at least follow, or almost follow, a published recipe with minor modifications. It’s progress, anyway.

gf scone

This is another recipe from Bob’s Red Mill. I made a few changes to this scone recipe.

Raisin Scones (adapted from a recipe by Carol Fenster, Ph.D.)

1 1/4 c. gluten free sweet white sorghum flour
1/2 c. arrowroot powder
1 1/2 t. cream of tartar
3/4 t. baking soda
1 t. xanthan gum
1/4 t. sea salt
1/4 t. nutmeg
4 Tbsp. 100% canoleo margarine
1/4 c. honey + rice milk to bring liquid volume a little more than 1/2 c. (but less than 2/3 c.)
1 large egg
1/3 – 1/2 c. raisins, sulfite free
1 Tbsp. rice milk

Preheat oven to 400 F. Grease or spray baking sheet; set aside.

Combine flours, cream of tartar, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, and nutmeg. Cut in cold margarine to resemble coarse meal.

Combine honey, rice milk, and egg. Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir until moistened. Fold in raisins.

Pat dough into an 8″ circle on prepared baking sheet. Cut into 6-8 wedges but do not separate. Brush top with rice milk.

Bake for 12-15 minutes.

buttered scone

I tasted one and I thought it was reasonably good.  Not as good as one made with wheat, sugar, butter, and cream . . . but not like cardboard, either.  And no allergic reaction! 😉

4 Responses

  1. I so fear developing an allergy. I already have a ton of fruit and veggie allergies, I would hate to get anymore. Good for you for trying to find ways around it.

  2. My friend with the longest list of allergies, and still developing new ones, loved to bake too, so you can imagine how hard it is for her. I think it’s pretty funny The Husband says I’m only allergic to things no one would want to eat. I haven’t tried the millet again to see what would happen but I’m not in a real hurry to either.

  3. I like the scones the best. They are yummy and moist. No, they aren’t wheat with milk and cream, but they are wonderful for a food challenged person like me. Thanks from Mrs. V

  4. I was glad to be able to give you some options for safe food for the weekend. It seems like it takes so much energy, thought, and time into making things safe that it must be exhausting to do it full time. I’m glad you liked the scones.

Comments are closed.

