Stirred, Not Shaken

Success at last! Or at least, I hope it is, since I didn’t do a taste test. 😉 Here is a recipe I borrowed from Bob’s Red Mill and further adapted to suit Mrs. V’s specific allergen list. It looks and smells like a blueberry muffin. Let’s hope it tastes like one too!

gf blueberry muffin

Gluten-Free Blueberry Muffins (adapted from Sue’s Rice Muffins)

1 egg
2-3 Tbsp. honey + rice milk to make 1/2 c. liquid
2 Tbsp. canola oil
1 c. white rice flour
1 1/2 t. cream of tartar
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. sea salt
1 t. grated lemon peel (I thought of this addition after they were already in the oven but I think it would make them even tastier)
2 Tbsp. finely chopped walnuts
1/3 c. frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 425 F. Lightly grease a 6-cup muffin tin; set aside.

Stir together all ingredients until moistened. Divide among the muffin cups.

Bake for 17-20 minutes. Allow muffins to cool for 5-8 minutes before removing from tin.

muffins cooling

The original recipe calls for placing the ingredients in a quart jar to mix. James Bond may like his martini’s shaken, not stirred, but I find it easier to stir my muffins in a bowl. Besides, this actually came out fairly thick, not runny, so I think mixing in a jar would be a pain.

rice muffin

2 Responses

  1. I have used this same recipe, but I found that adding another egg helped them hold together better and be less likely to crumble. Thanks for cooking for Mrs. V at the retreat. 😉

  2. I didn’t open any of these to see how crumbly they were, but at least they didn’t fall apart when I pulled them out of the tins.

    I baked these a second time, replacing the egg with Ener-G egg replacer and using the lemon peel. Crystal thought the lemon was a good addition. I didn’t see how crumbly hers were either. :-/

Comments are closed.

