Sneak Preview

Today The Husband took the older girls on a bike ride to our property and the little girls and I drove out to pick them up a few hours later. While the little girls were napping, I took the opportunity to bake on a record hot day in October!

banana nut

What inspires a Fruittart to bake in the heat? In two weeks the ladies from our church will have a retreat together and this time there is no food provided at the venue. I volunteered to make some muffins, so today I was able to tuck a couple of bags in the freezer as well as have some for the family to eat this week. I baked 4 dozen muffins in all.

banana muffins

First, I made some ‘plain Jane’ banana muffins using the first recipe I posted here as the base recipe. I used lots of grains like wheat germ, flax, bran, etc, but I didn’t add any interesting spices or fruits, just three pecan halves to the tops. From the other half of that double batch, I made banana muffins with dried cranberries, apricots, and golden raisins. They are in the background above.

pumpkin praline muffin

Finally, I made a double batch of these pumpkin muffins with some minor changes to the basic recipe and the addition of a praline pecan filling and topping. Think pumpkin coffee cake or praline sweet potatoes in flavor.

praline muffin

I have a few other projects on which I’m working also, so stay tuned . . .

One Response

  1. drooling…

Comments are closed.

