A Taste of Fall

I’m going to begin this post with a disclaimer. ** When I say a recipe is ‘allergy friendly’, I mean specifically for the intended recipient, not for any and all possible allergies. I made this for someone who can’t have cane sugar, wheat or most grains other than rice, dairy, berries, etc. But she *can* eat eggs. If you can’t eat eggs, don’t make this recipe. **

The good news is that Mr. V. found a job that he is excited about. The bad news is that it’s in Texas, which is not very close to Illinois. So we found ourselves saying ‘goodbyes’ again. Bah. Still, I wanted to make something Mrs. V. could eat at the farewell party, so I came up with pumpkin custard. You could call it ‘crustless pumpkin pie’ for those who don’t like crusts. 😉

Non-dairy Pumpkin Custard

29 oz. can pumpkin
1 c. rice milk
1/4 c. agave syrup (it was all I had left)
1 c. honey
6 egg yolks
cinnamon
nutmeg
cloves

In a medium saucepan, heat pumpkin, rice milk, and sweetening, stirring frequently, until hot and bubbly.

Whisk egg yolks together until thick and creamy. Stir about 1/2 c. of the hot pumpkin mixture into the egg yolks.

Stir egg mixture into the pan of hot pumpkin and season to taste. Continue to cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thickened. Serve warm or cold.

If I would have had some on hand, I would have used maple syrup for the sweetening.

2 Responses

  1. Yum, yum, yum!! This custard was delicious! I don’t think anything more needs to be said 😉

  2. That looks awesome! I would love to feature this on our website, http://www.godairyfree.org, with links and credits to your blog of course! Please email and let me know if that would be okay. Thank you!

Comments are closed.

