Vegan Truffles

Well, that sounds better than “I made mud balls!” It’s probably Myriam’s fault, with her Brownie Babe of the Month contests. Yeah, I think I’m going to place all the blame on her for my latest brownie cravings. I can’t, in all honesty, blame her for the dried cherry or pistachio cravings, but I keep wanting to put them together, in a brownie.

pistachios.jpg

Last week I made an old ‘Texas Brownie’ recipe I had and added cherries and pistachios but I made it in the smallest of the pan sizes suggested and I ended up with a brownie cake. Tasty, but not quite it. Just enough mix of chocolate, dried cherries, and pistachios to make me want to make more. But when the heat index is 105 F, turning on the oven seems absurd. What could make me more of a Brownie Babe than making no-bake brownies to satisfy the cravings?

mixing.jpg

I pulled out a recipe that one of The Husband’s former co-workers gave me a few years ago. Vegan brownies. Hmm, no notes on the page, but I vaguely remember the last time I made these they were too gooey. But I’m pretty sure the time before that they were not exactly firm, but had a decent texture. Well, with a memory like this and no notes to go on, I’ll just follow the recipe and see how it goes.

pan-of-brownies.jpg

Recipe says to make a day ahead for best flavor and texture, so I poured it into a parchment lined pan and left it in the fridge for a day. Then I tried to cut them and they were *very* sticky. Edible, but when left out of the fridge for very long they were rather messy.

brownie.jpg

So I rolled them into balls and dipped them in a mixture of sifted powdered sugar and cocoa. Very tasty. The kiddos gave them hearty approval.

vegan-truffle.jpg

Vegan Banana Brownies

12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 c. spectrum spread (or margarine)
1 ½ c. unbleached flour
1 c. unbleached cane sugar
½ t. salt
3 medium bananas (next time I’ll try just two)
1 t. vanilla
2/3 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

In a small non-stick skillet, cook together the chocolate chips and margarine, stirring often, until the chips are thoroughly melted.

In a bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

In a food processor or blender puree the bananas and continue to process for 2 minutes until light and fluffy.

Add pureed bananas and vanilla to the dry ingredients and stir well. Add melted chocolate chip mixture and stir until batter is very smooth and then fold in walnuts. Spread into 9 x 13 pan.

