Mon Petite Choux

For today’s baby shower I said I made a sweet and a savory. Well, actually I made two sweets and a savory. I made a triple batch of cream puff dough.

profiteroles.jpg

Some I filled with turkey apricot salad.

turkey-salad-puff.jpg

And others I filled with either sweetened whipped cream (shown below) or Emeril’s Vanilla Pastry Cream.

whipped-cream-puff.jpg

A few got a little squiggle of chocolate ganache on the top. It was so much fun to use a vanilla bean and have pastry cream with those little specks of vanilla seeds. I may have to pull out a few more vanilla bean recipes to test soon. It was not as hard as it sounds. The cooking, thickening, straining, etc sounds a bit time consuming but I think I had the whole thing made and in the fridge to cool within 15 – 20 minutes. Well worth the time.

cream-puff-platter.jpg

Profiteroles (Cream Puffs)

1 c. water
1/2 c. butter (1 stick)

1 c. flour

4 eggs

Bring water and butter to a boil. Reduce heat and stir in flour until it forms a ball. Beat in eggs until smooth. Drop or pipe onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 400 F until golden brown (depending on size of puff, 15-35 minutes).

I’ve found that a good test for doneness is when they no longer stick to the pan — they seem to stick until they are done and then they easily slide on the pan.

**********
Turkey Apricot Salad

Salad:
1 1/2 lbs deli turkey, finely chopped
1/3 c. dried apricots, finely chopped
3 Tbsp. celery, finely chopped
3 Tbsp. onion, finely chopped (for the baby shower I used 2 green onions)
3 Tbsp. red and/or green pepper, finely chopped

Dressing:
3 Tbsp. mayonnaise (I use light)
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. wine vinegar
1 t. finely chopped fresh ginger (sometimes I’m a bit liberal here)
1/2 t. finely chopped fresh garlic (again, a little liberal with the garlic)
zest of one lime

Whisk together all dressing ingredients, toss to coat salad. Cover, refrigerate 1 hour before serving. If desired, add chopped pecans to salad.

One Response

  1. […] to everything. I make vanilla yogurt about twice a month, I toss them into cupcakes and frosting, pastry cream, and of course, ice cream and frozen […]

Comments are closed.

