My Hero!

Thursday was a friend’s birthday and she had a very simple request: would I please make her a birthday cake. No problem! Surely we can bake a birthday cake with no wheat, no dairy, no egg, no almond. We’ve done wacky cake/crazy cake/depression cake/war cake ad nauseum so I tried some new recipes.

First was a chocolate cake that used maple syrup for the sweetening. I’m going to give that it’s own post later. Second came an orange cake that is essentially the wacky cake made w/o cocoa but with orange juice in place of water. Meh. It was moist and tasty but not quite the texture for a layered cake, especially when made with barley and whole grain spelt flour (coarse and grainy).

Finally I found a recipe for a ‘white cake’ and the birthday girl asked for a lightly spiced cake so I decided to play with that and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. It stuck to the pan. It has great texture and taste, but it wouldn’t release from the pan.

In order to salvage the third cake, I resorted to an old standby: trifle. The birthday girl asked for cherry or orange flavors so I went looking at the store. I was thinking of possibly layering some cherry pie filling with Cool Whip but that seemed so pedestrian. Then I found Hero Black Cherry Preserves, which particularly caught my eye because they don’t list high fructose corn syrup as an ingredient. It says, “black cherries, sugar, glucose syrup, citric acid, fruit pectin. All natural ingredients. No preservatives. No artificial flavors or colors.” Doesn’t that sound like something you could eat? Into the basket it went.

Once at home, I stirred the contents of jar into the largest container of Cool Whip Light I could find and alternated the cherry preserves/Cool Whip mixture with crumbled cake.

hero.jpg

It’s not a proper birthday cake, but I think it will convert a failed baking effort into a tasty dessert. Stay tuned for more birthday cake drama! 😉

5 Responses

  1. i definitely know that the birthday girl will appreciate it! 🙂

    i should be thinking of our little baby will want for its 0th birthday b/c mom’s just have a intuition of what baby’s like. 😛 j/k! 🙂

  2. The thing I was the most excited about was having layers. Look at all the layers! It is even better this way.

  3. i thought that i wouldn’t go crazy with sweets after i get off my gestational diabetes diet, but after taking a small taste of each cake i’m very afraid that i might lost control! let’s just say if i had those desserts offered to me everyday, i will keep my pregnancy weight! 😉

  4. Oh my goodness! And I really mean goodness! The trifle was so tasty that had I known I would have just asked for that. The chocolate cake was also very good and I am overwhelmed, incredibly grateful, and very much desiring the recipes of both. The cake which I think might get a later post had awesome texture and moistness and looked beautiful. It didn’t crumble which wheat free cakes ALWAYS do. I might be the food scientist but you are the master.

  5. I’m glad you ladies enjoyed the desserts, especially Crystal! 😀

Comments are closed.

