Hay, Hay, It’s Sorbet!

I was so excited when Eat Drink Live announced the sorbet theme for the next round of Hay, Hay, It’s Donna Day. I have a Donna Hay magazine that I’ve been keeping on my coffee table because the raspberry semifreddo on the front cover is so gorgeous and now is the season for cold fruity desserts.

sorbet1.jpg

I had several ideas for this but most were dashed by lack of raspberries and blueberries and then I forgot to buy the ginger or I would have had something very similar to Brilynn’s strawberry mango ginger sorbet! Maybe it was because of Independence Day that I got ‘stripes’ in my head, but I kept picturing a layered sorbet dessert so this is what I came up with: mango nutmeg sorbet resting on strawberry key lime sorbet on top of a pineapple slice.

Mango Nutmeg Sorbet

1 c. water
1/2 c. sugar

3 large mangoes, peeled and chopped
1/4 c. lemon juice
1/8 tsp. nutmeg

Mix the water and sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Chill.

In a blender, mix mangoes, lemon juice, nutmeg, and sugar water. Puree until smooth. Freeze.

I think I used about 1/4 t. of nutmeg in mine and it overpowers the mango so I’m suggesting less here.

Strawberry Key Lime Sorbet

1 c. water
3/4 c. sugar

1 1/2 lbs. strawberries
1/3 c. key lime juice
zest of a lime

Mix the water and sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Chill.

In a blender, mix strawberries, lime juice, lime zest, and sugar water. Puree until smooth. Freeze.

sorbet3.jpg

I don’t have an ice cream freezer. (I’d love to have one and a copy of David Lebovitz’s book The Perfect Scoop) So, I put my sorbets in the freezer in containers and I stirred them a few times before I went to bed and in the morning I mushed them up with a spoon before layering them on the pineapple and refreezing them. As I mentioned above, the nutmeg was a little too overpowering for the mango in the quantity I used — it would be better with either less nutmeg or some peach nectar or something added to give it more fruit flavor. The strawberry key lime is a keeper!

10 Responses

  1. Love the layered look! And such good flavour combos!

  2. Brilynn — Thanks! Yours was lovely too!

  3. That’s gorgeous! Great job.

  4. Absolutely lovely. I think you have a winner on your hands 🙂

  5. Oh, how PRETTY!

  6. looooooks tasty!

  7. Glenna, Kristen, Abby & Egana:

    Thanks!

  8. Nutmeg and mango? Never heard of that combination, but I bet it’s good! Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. That is lovely. Brilliant presentation. Thanks for joining HHDD.

  10. Sara: Not everyone liked the combo, but I did and The Husband liked it, so that’s all that matters, right?! 😉

    Barbara: Thanks! It was fun! I’m so glad you started this event.

Comments are closed.

