You Picked A Fine Time To Leave Me, Gas Oven

Eight hungry people and a baby shower to bake for. Kenny Rogers’ version no doubt had broader appeal, but I was quite frustrated when my gas oven decided it was time to go on holiday when I had *plans* for it. I was making a trial run of a new recipe for a baby shower when it decided it was not going to light. We could smell gas strongly when I turned it on, but even lying on the floor holding the flame thrower (propane torch) inside the oven, the Husband couldn’t get it to light so we turned it off before we were all gassed. I already had my cake mixed and fortunately the In-Laws were here with the motorhome and we were able to bake it in the motorhome oven, even if we ended up overbaking it.

flourless-cake.jpg

This was a recipe I lifted off the internet and then modified slightly to completely remove the sugar for gestational diabetes. It was good enough that Crystal picked up supplies from me and baked one in her oven and hers turned out 100 times better. Hers was puffier, moister, and just overall better — Food Science people can be trusted to do that sort of thing. So if you make this, make it like she did! 😉

Flourless Cake

8 oz. good dark chocolate (we used 60% Ghirardelli the second time)
1/2 c. (1 stick) butter

6 egg yolks
2/3 c. Splenda

6 egg whites, beaten to firm peaks

Preheat oven to 375 F. Prepare a 9-inch springform pan with non-stick spray and set aside.

Melt together chocolate and butter in a double boiler.

Stir together the egg yolks with the Splenda. Add the egg mixture to the chocolate, stirring until well mixed.

Stir in 1/3 of the well beaten egg whites. Fold in the remaining 2/3 until there are no streaks.

Spoon into springform pan and smooth the top. Bake for 20 minutes.

Garnish with whipping cream and raspberries, if desired.

*************

With the oven not working, I decided that I ought to come up with a no-bake option in case it wasn’t possible to make the cake. So I made some ‘fake fudge’. It’s not as dark as the fudge I usually make and I think Splenda has an awful aftertaste so I’m not thrilled with it. But if I had gestational diabetes and I wanted a treat, this would be great b/c there’s supposed to be less than 1 g of carb in each square.

fudge.jpg

Sugar Free “Fudge”
16 oz cream cheese
4 oz dark chocolate, melted
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 c. Splenda
1/2 – 1 c. chopped nuts, if desired

Whip cream cheese. Add the chocolate, vanilla, and Splenda and beat until well mixed. Stir in nuts, if desired. Spread into a foil lined 8-inch pan. Chill several hours or overnight. Cut into squares. Keep refrigerated.

Another version with peanut butter:
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 c. butter
1/4 c. cocoa
2-4 Tbsp peanut butter
1/4 c. whipping cream
1 t. vanilla

Soften cream cheese and butter and beat together. Add cocoa, peanut butter, whipping cream and vanilla and beat until smooth. Spread into a foil lined 8-inch pan. Chill several hours or overnight. Cut into squares. Keep refrigerated.

2 Responses

  1. It was all VERY DELICIOUS and quite a treat for the pregnant gestational diabetes woman. 🙂 I couldn’t believe all the sweet things I could eat and not feel guilty about. 🙂 You, Crystal, and all the ladies did a fabulous job!

  2. “My way” of baking the cake involved hunting for an outlet and carrying the mixer around because the ones in the kitchen decided to trip. This is one resilient cake.

    Also for the fake fudge, the peanut butter ones helped to combat the splenda aftertaste in my opinion. Trust me, they grow on you.

Comments are closed.

