Add a Little Spice to Your Day

Years ago my mom gave me a paperback cookbook that is no longer in print, called ‘The Muffin Cookbook: Muffins for All Occasions’. I managed to find one for Egana’s birthday a year or two ago, but you have to look at used bookstores. There are several recipes from that book that I use again and again (the Banana Blueberry Muffins originally came from that book too). I haven’t tried every recipe from the cookbook but I have been working my way through the ones that suit my tastes. The latest is Apple Spice Muffins.

whole-muffin.jpg

Apple Spice Muffins

1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. wheat germ
1/4 c. sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
3/4 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. salt
1 c. peeled, chopped apple
1 c. 2% low-fat milk (I used my homemade yogurt)
1/4 c. oil
1 egg

1/4 c. sugar
3/4 t. cinnamon
1/3 c. chopped nuts
2 Tbsp melted butter

Heat oven to 400F. Grease muffin cups.

In large bowl, combine flour, wheat germ, 1/4 c. sugar, baking powder, 3/4 t. cinnamon, and salt. Stir in apple.

In small bowl, combine milk, oil, and egg. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until moistened.

Fill muffin cups almost full. In small bowl, combine remaining sugar, cinnamon, nuts, and butter. Sprinkle over muffins.

Bake 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.. Remove from pan.

Makes 12 muffins.

apple-muffin.jpg

I typically use braeburn apples for baking but this time I had Fuji apples on hand, and my style is all about what’s on hand, not about making more trips to the store! 😉 The original recipe didn’t have the amounts parsed out for muffin and topping so I added a little too much sugar to the muffin before I double checked amounts (I doubled the recipe) — I rewrote it so you can handily make the muffins from the ingredient list. For the topping I didn’t quite follow the instructions b/c I had some leftover topping from the coffeecake muffins the other day so I added a little granulated sugar and cinnamon and mixed it together and used a total of less of it on the tops than the recipe called for.

4 Responses

  1. This looks like some apple strudel muffins I have made before. I DO have extra apples on hand but I think I’m going to make them in to pocket pies. These do look fabulous and moist though, great job!

  2. I have this book! It’s great!

  3. uh-oh… do I have a muffin cookbook from you? ummmm…

    ummm….

    it must be here somplace….

  4. mmmmmmmmm….looks wonderful!

Comments are closed.

