Coffee Cake Muffins

It’s time for another ‘Tuesday Test Kitchen’ recipe. I went back to The Best of Cooking Light 8 for another muffin recipe. I thought it was a good recipe so I’m sharing it with you. I doubled the recipe, which should have yielded 36 muffins according to the recipe, but I ended up with 24. A few of mine were a little large and spread out a bit much, but while I could have stretched it out to a few more muffins, I couldn’t have done 12 more! Another comment I have is the recipe called for a powdered sugar frosting, but I left it off b/c I didn’t think it really needed it and I didn’t think it would be appreciated by our current guests — the kids, of course, would have thought that was wonderful! 😉

The changes I made are in italics. I didn’t have egg substitute (I never buy it) so I used whole eggs plus an egg white, so I’m sure some of the ‘cooking light’ was lost in my efforts, but at least it still tastes like a good coffee cake! 🙂 Oh, and I forgot to put the extra sugar topping on the second batch of muffins and it really wasn’t missed — so you could easily just stir it all into the muffins, or make a little less of it. It is important to only fold the batter four times so the sugar mixture doesn’t get too evenly mixed into the batter.

muffin-top.jpg

Cinnamon-Swirl Sour Cream Coffeecake Muffins
— from The Best of Cooking Light 8

½ c. packed dark brown sugar (I used light brown)
¼ c. chopped pecans
1 ½ t. ground cinnamon

1 c. granulated sugar
¼ c. butter, softened
½ c. egg substitute (doubling the recipe, I used 4 whole eggs + 1 egg white)
1 c. reduced-fat sour cream
2 Tbsp water
1 t. vanilla extract
1 ¾ c. all-purpose flour
1 t. baking powder
½ t. baking soda
½ t. salt

Cooking spray

6 Tbsp powdered sugar
1 Tbsp fresh orange juice

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Combine first 3 ingredients; set aside.

Place granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl, beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 3 minutes). Add egg substitute, beat 3 minutes. Beat in sour cream, water and vanilla.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups, level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Make a well in center of mixture; add sour cream mixture. Stir just until combined.

Place 3 Tbsp of the brown sugar mixture in a small bowl; set aside. Sprinkle the surface of the muffin batter with the remaining brown sugar mixture. Gently fold the batter 4 times.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle batter evenly with reserved brown sugar mixture. Bake at 400 F for 25 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove muffins from pan immediately; place on a wire rack. Cool 10 minutes.

Combine powdered sugar, juice and dash of salt in a small bowl, stirring until smooth. Drizzle powdered sugar mixture evenly over muffins.

Yield: 18 muffins (I doubled the recipe and got 24 nice sized muffins; I might have been able to spread it out to make 30, but 36 would have been rather small muffins).

coffeecake-muffin.jpg

