Banana Daiquiri Bread

This recipe came from a book I picked up when we were celebrating our 10th anniversary in the Caribbean. I’ve tried a couple of the things from it before with average to good success. My biggest complaint is the things I *really* want to make involve seafood and we just don’t get the best quality seafood here in the Midwest. 😦  We had some of the most amazing stuff while we were there . . . and mangoes, mangoes, and more mangoes.  I want to go back! 😉

banana-daiquiri-muffins.jpg

The recipe called for dark rum but I only had light rum on hand and I didn’t want to buy a bottle of dark rum since I might well never use it again. When we stayed at the resort on St. John they gave us a freebie bottle of Cruz Bay dark rum and it was disgusting . . . it smelled like cleaning solution or something and when we tried it with a fruity mixer we both felt ill. Later we learned that dark rum really isn’t meant for fruity mixers (we’re willfully ignorant when it comes to most alcohol info) but we were so turned off that we just cringe at the thought of dark rum. Having said that, I think it would be better in this recipe b/c this is precisely where the stronger flavor would do well. The rum and Cointreau do not stand out strongly in the flavor of this bread/muffin but they accent it nicely. It’s better than a simple banana bread. I would make this again.

Here is the original recipe with my notes:

Banana Daiquiri Bread

1 ¼ c. granulated sugar
¼ c. butter, melted
1 Tbsp Cointreau
3 Tbsp dark rum
2 c. mashed bananas (I used 5 medium bananas, didn’t measure the amount)
½ c. milk (I used 1/2 c. homemade yogurt)
2 eggs, beaten
2 ¼ c. flour
½ t. baking powder
½ t. baking soda
½ t. salt
¼ t. cinnamon (I may have used a little more; I didn’t measure this)

Preheat oven to 350 F and butter a glass loaf dish. Take 1 Tbsp of the flour and lightly coat the bottom and sides of the dish.

In a large bowl using an electric beater combine the sugar and butter. Add the Cointreau, rum, bananas, milk, and eggs.

Sift together all dry ingredients and add to butter mixture. Beat until combined, but do not overbeat.

Bake for 1 hour and insert a toothpick to check for doneness. Continue baking until toothpick comes out clean.

I made these as muffins rather than bread and it made 20 muffins.

2 Responses

  1. I usually have a bottle of Myers Rum, just let me know when you’d like some. Myers is relatively inexpensive and is the only rum I’ve tried that doesn’t seem to have had all of it’s flavor distilled away. I’ve tried a few other dark rums, but they never taste significantly different from the light ones.

  2. These muffins looks SO moist! I seem to have a thing for banana bread, so I think this will go in my recipe box for a time that I have bananas!

Comments are closed.

