You Are My Sunshine

A few weeks ago, for the last Student Lunch of the year, someone brought some cookies from Sam’s Club but, because she couldn’t eat them herself, she left the extras here. Actually, there were several kinds — we had a boatload of desserts that day and somehow all the extras got left with us. One of the cookies, a coconut and pecan cookie, was particularly good, especially for a Sam’s Club cookie. It was at the beginning of my recent coconut and lime obsession and after eating one of those cookies I thought, you know what? This would make a great base for a key lime tart.

lime-blackberry-tart.jpg

So tonight when we had a guest for dinner, I gave life to the mental experiment. For the crust, I used, approximately:

1 c. flour

1/3-1/2 c. coconut

1/3-1/2 c. brown sugar

2/3 c. margarine

1/2-3/4 c. coarsely chopped pecans

Mix butter/margarine into the dry ingredients to resemble a coarse meal. Stir in pecans. Press into the base of a greased and floured tart pan. Bake at 400 F for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown. Cool completely.

I used the same filling I mentioned before. This time I made a little sauce from some seedless blackberry jam and spread it on top of the tart and garnished with Cool Whip (again, due to lactose intolerance issues) and fresh blackberries. I think it’s better than the original recipe due to the dynamic depth of flavors. The only thing better would be to have huckleberries instead!

blackberry.jpg

I’m so glad Coconut and Lime’s birthday celebration spurred this recent coconut and lime interest!

One Response

  1. Looks beautiful! I love the coconut and lime combo too.

Comments are closed.

