‘Mom, could you just make chicken like Ramona, instead?’

Many of my favorite food bloggers try a new cookbook each month or regularly post on cookbook creations they have tried and loved so I decided that, for the next few weeks at least, Tuesdays are going to be my ‘Cookbook Test Kitchen Day’. I have several feet of cookbooks on the shelf, some I reference from time to time, most I ignore in favor of old favorites and my own creations. Inspired by Breadchick’s Cooking Light recipe, I decided to make something from the ‘Superfast Weeknight Dinners’ book from Cooking Light. I tried Lemon Garlic Chicken, which has lemon juice, molasses, worcestershire sauce, and garlic in a marinade.

lemon-garlic-chicken.jpg

It’s just ok. It’s not great. It’s not a disaster, but it looks better than it tastes. The kids, always ones to boost Mom’s ego, said, “Mom, this chicken doesn’t taste very good at all. Couldn’t you just make Ramona’s chicken instead? Or her plain baked chicken from Saturday?” 😉

The leftovers will probably become quesadilla filling.

4 Responses

  1. aww, i’m sorry how your kids reacted! 😛

    as for saturday’s chicken, i just brined it overnight with the following mixture:

    (for 2 whole chickens)

    1 C sugar
    1.5 C kosher salt
    2 bay leaves
    4 tsp dried thyme
    1 tbp peppercorns, crushed
    1 head garlic, cut in half
    2.5 gallons of water

    i just patted the chicken dry, added some olive oil to the top to help it brown, and just roasted it until done.

    the chicken was still a little salty for me, so i’ll probably cut back the salt even more (the original recipe called for 2 C salt).

  2. Thank, Ramona! I should just tell the older girls that *they* need to learn how to make your chicken dishes and then they could cook dinner and I could have a night off!! 😉 I thought it was pretty cute that both older girls compared the new recipe to your chicken — I almost never make any baked chicken so they would have a hard time remembering the last time I made it. But you should be encouraged — your chicken is the gold standard for my kids! 😉

    The quesadillas were good, anyway. 🙂

  3. i am flattered that your kiddos like my chicken so much. 😉 but at the same time i know that your food is SO delicious so i find it strange that your kids would say something like that. 🙂

    oh, the recipe calls for 4 TBS not 4 tsp of thyme. 🙂

  4. Well, I didn’t think it was a great recipe either, so I can’t blame the kids for their response! 😀

Comments are closed.

