Coconut and Lime Cupcakes

Rachel at Coconut & Lime is celebrating the third birthday of her blog and started a contest based on coconut and lime ingredients, but I can’t seem to figure out how to get to her older posts to link it. 😦

I love both coconut and lime but ever since I read that post, I find myself thinking of experimental coconut & lime foods to make. Here is the first of several experiments I have planned:

cocolime-muff.jpg

Coconut & Lime Cupcakes

Lime Cake:

2 1/2 c. flour

1 1/2 c. sugar

3 t. baking powder

1/2 t. salt

1 1/2 c. homemade yogurt (I used Stonyfield Farms for my starter but my homemade stuff isn’t quite as thick as store bought yogurt)

1/2 c. applesauce

1/4 c. butter

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

zest of one lime

Blend together all ingredients in a large bowl, on low speed for about 30 seconds and then on high speed for about 2 minutes, scraping bowl.

Coconut Filling:

2 c. flake coconut

2 Tbsp. flour

2 egg whites

1 t. vanilla

1/2 c. sugar

Stir together all ingredients until well mixed and moist.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease muffin tins. Fill about 1/2 full with cake batter. Spoon a Tbsp or so of coconut filling into the center of each cupcake. Bake 20 min or until done. (Makes 24 cupcakes.)

Because I didn’t want a half cup of poofy frosting on top, I made a slightly thicker frosting and put a tablespoon or a little more on each, making a slight mound on top, but not a decorated swirl.

Lime Frosting:

3 1/2 c. confectioner’s sugar

1/4 c. butter

juice of one lime plus a little key lime juice

1 t. vanilla

a little extra coconut sprinkled on top of each cupcake

Beat well.  It would have been better with a little lime zest in it.

*********

Happy Birthday Coconut & Lime!

cocolime-center.jpg

3 Responses

  1. These were great, tasted them myself just this am! You are such an awesome cook!

  2. Those would probably be pretty good with some rum in them too!

  3. Thank, Lori! I’m glad you enjoyed them.

    Brilynn — I agree, although I rarely bake with it. I’d prefer a pina colada or mango daquairi to drink with my cupcake! 😉

Comments are closed.

